We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Greytown, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I was on a business trip and wanted a quiet place to stay over for the weekend. Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge supplied exactly that!
Tranquil, unspoiled and amazingly beautiful.
Jann runs the place and made me feel welcome immediately. The evenings were spent chatting away by the fire over a beer or two while Jann prepared the most amazing meals. One can see that a lot of thought went into creating this wonderland retreat - the accommodation was cosy and well equipped, the lighting was soft and alluring all around and the service was friendly and comfortable. I can't wait to take my wife back there for a quiet romantic stay!

Room Tip: I thought the cottages a bit further away from the main lodge had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diakonos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
261
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

5 of us spent 3 nights here at the end of August 2011. We have not stopped talking about it, Jann has set up lodgings and surroundings with comfort and relaxation in mind. The food Jann produces on the open fire is truly amazing and delicious. We had much fun and laughter trying to get passed Olive the ostrich after meal times mainly at night when she had settled in the road where we needed to pass but it all added to the adventure! We will be back again as we are keen to see the developments of the braai area Jann is developing. We went on two walks which are marked out and easy to follow. Very peaceful and relaxing and Jann has a great sense of humour and is a terrific host alongside his assistant Amanda and Indiana. If you are looking for a comfortable, relaxing value for money location then this is it, you will not be disappointed! We loved how the table was set out at meal times with real attention to detail. Superb

Room Tip: The three "rooms" which are en suite with tea, coffee making facilities and a small fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nippers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge was our first stop over point in the Klein Karoo and we immediately fell in love with the place. We are already planning our next trip back to this wonderful piece of paradise. The host Jann together with his Ostrich and free roaming Springbucks made this a very memorable trip indeed and we can comfortably recommend Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge. If you are looking for piece and quiet with a view, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Even though we arrived in the pouring rain, we were still totally gobsmacked with the setting! We decided to stay in the zebra walk cottage which was positioned perfectly in the middle of nowhere. We decided to join Jan for dinner on the first evening so we didnt have to venture out in the rain. The food was fantastic! After Jans lovely food and great company we decided we wouldnt find anywhere nicer to spend our second evening and so joined him again. The walks that had been planned were fantastic as well and we even managed to see the zebra! All in all we had such a great stay and didn't want want to leave. The only bad point was the rain on our first evening which flooded the entrance to the lodge but Jan kindly showed us an alternate route out. The best place we stayed on the garden route and I definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed one memorable night here while driving the Garden Route during our honeymoon, and it was first rate in all respects; wish we had planned multiple nights. We arrived after having been to Cango Caves, a little later than we'd planned, but happily just in time for viewing a glorious sunset behind the hills across the valley -- the Zwartberg View that gives the lodge its name. What a great setting, somewhat isolated, well outside of Oudtshoorn. As we were honeymooners, Jann had a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us, and then was our colorful and entertaining host for two meals -- dinner following drinks around a firepit, and then breakfast the next morning before leaving. While at the fire a group of small antelope (impala?) came nearby and were feeding a few yards away. My wife disappeared for a bit to have a conversation with a large ostrich on the grounds. (When told where she'd gone, Jann observed that the ostrich would disagree with everything Claire said, which, I'm told, proved to be true.) The food was well-chosen and well-prepared, and the lodge we were in, quite by ourselves, was cozy and comfortable and entirely pleasant. It really was a shame we stayed only a single night. Other guests we shared dinner with had been there longer, and mentioned that they'd seen and photographed three giraffe that day on a nearby ridge. We noticed before leaving that Jann had copies of a book he'd written about his experiences running a previous lodge, in Kruger. We only had time to skim little bits, and the (funny!) blurbs on the back cover, but it looked wonderfully entertaining -- which would be no surprise, as Jann is clearly that--himself, perhaps, being the best reason of all to stay here. His little dog is nice too...

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EandC_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have recently returned from a wonderful two weeks in South Africa and Zwartberg view is the one place that we talk about the most.

The location is stunning. Jan is the most wonderful and engaging host. He's not only a great cook, but also recommended days out and routes to take that took our breath away.

The icing on the cake are the extras: Indiana, the resident pooch, who will be your best friend - until you leave. The Springbok who turn up to have their dinner, when you're having yours. But best of all, at least for us, was a bad tempered, yet strangely endearing Ostrich, who pops up on a regular basis and is very much 'in your face'.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanBIP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

What is there to write if everything is perfect? The comfy bed, the creative decoration of the rooms, the fantastic three course dinner, the attentive but unobtrusive host, the snowy mountains in the moonlight and then the giraffes on the horizon while making your own fire... You get the picture. Let's not all come at the same time though, don't want to scare the nearly tame springboks away!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarissaChandansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
21.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
310 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
861 reviews
30.1 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Property: Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is set in our own private nature reserve 15 minutes from Oudtshoorn and de Rust - our chalets are high up in the hills above a natural amphitheatre where wildlife abounds and the views are spectacular. Our dinners and breakfasts, included in our rate are internationally renowned, our furnishings and fittings very African and very unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing