We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream for nature lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“A dream for nature lovers”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The lodge is reached via 5 km on a gravel road. It consists of three individually decorated cottages on a hill overlooking the beautiful Swartberg mountains, each with its own patio. The so-called base-camp, away some 700m, contains the tiny restaurant on a large open patio with a fire-place right in the middle and in front of a small hut used as an open kitchen. The host Jann prepares breakfast and dinner in gourmet style, very delicious, with a different table decoration each time. Creative African artwork everywhere. A small bar provides wine and drinks. In the evening springboks pass by to have their meal, just opposite the dinner table. Wonderful atmosphere under the stars.
A quiet place, very well kept. Nearby: Oudtshoorn, Cave, Swartberg pass, Prince Albert.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilguenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
261
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Zwartberg View Mountain lodge and this was actually not enough to discover the beautiful region. There are so many things to do here. Therefore I would advise to stay minimum 2 à 3 days.
Don't miss the delicious breakfast and 4-course dinners! Jan, the owner of the lodge also knows everything about the flora & fauna. He explains and guide you to all the things you have to see in the region. The views at the lodge are tremendous. This was definitely the best 2 days of our holiday in South Africa!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

If you want to get out into the bush without roughing it, this is the place for you. Set in its own mini nature reserve, the chalets have amazing views - not another house in sight and are very comfortable, although don't expect 5 star plushness as that is not what the place is about. Jann, the owner, virtually built the place single handed from scratch.

There was no one else staying when we were there, which added to the romance of the place, but I don't know if having neighbours might make a difference, as the chalets are only about 10 metres apart. Better than a thin hotel room wall anyway. Walking back to our room under a clear starry sky, you would never guess that you were only 20 minutes from Oudtshoorn.

Jann was a great host and cooked up a sumptuous meal on the braai. Then we sat around the camp fire putting the world to rights and watching the tame Springbok eating hay. His little dog Indiana is sweet, although the pet ostriches are a bit pushy!

A great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyHighlander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Wow. What a place. As first time explorers to this region, my wife and I were blown away by this little corner of paradise. Jann has created an oasis where time stands still. The accommodation, food, atmosphere and views are outstanding and the attention to detail is without comparison. Don't be fooled by the slightly off track detour to get there - it is well worth the effort. You will not be disappointed. We will most certainly go back and recommend it without any hesitation. Jann is a most engaging and obliging host and will keep you entertained for hours with campfire stories and life experiences - a privelage not often experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2011

if you are looking for the most beautiful quiet location with a wonderful view and the best food in south africa ... then this is the place. For nature lovers and away from the hussle of towns and cities yet not too far from Outshoorn.The view is unique.
We were only here fro two days and would have loved another two days to do some walking and being surprised by Jann's the creative kitchen.The Ostriches and Springbok were a very nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I booked our two night stay here in November based on the reviews I found here when I was looking for a place to stay near Oudtshoorn and, as you can see from all the reviews since then we did the right thing. It's a fantastic experience - the friendliness of the welcome and hosting, the quality and attention in the food and accommodation, the location and magnificent surrounding landscapes are all brilliant. We loved the ostrich escort when walking back to our room after a great meal and conversation under the stars at night and we had a great day out to the passes with stops at De Rust and Prince Albert. Jann and the Little Karoo are definitely more interesting than anything you will find on the Garden Route, so stay here longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Our expectations were high after viewing Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge on the website. But they were even exceeded during our stay. There is only one word to describe the location, the rooms, the service, the hospitality and last but not least the food: extraordinary! Highly recommended to anyone looking for a special experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
21.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
449 reviews
11.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
310 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Property: Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is set in our own private nature reserve 15 minutes from Oudtshoorn and de Rust - our chalets are high up in the hills above a natural amphitheatre where wildlife abounds and the views are spectacular. Our dinners and breakfasts, included in our rate are internationally renowned, our furnishings and fittings very African and very unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing