We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 81 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2010

beautiful place to stay a few days while touring around wonderfull Africa, quiet garden, good swimmingpool, spacious room, great breakfast but most of all :warm hospitality by the owners!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thijssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 583 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

We visited Errold and Venita in this wonderful place.
Lovely garden and a large lovely pool.
But most of all- the most warm and kind people - that care about what they do who they house in every detail.
We were - for free- upgraded to the most wonderful and lucusious place we have ever been in. The girls (5 and 9) were so impressed they even started to tidy up after themselved - they never do that at home.
The rooms, the bathroom - a bath top un lion feet- etc. there was paid attention and put an extra effort into every detail. Breakfast served by the pool with excellent fruit salat garnished with colourful flowers - and each morning- a little difference - absolutely perfect. And they are so nice and kind that we felt like leaving family when we left.
AND the most unbelieable: we forgot a small puse belonging to our youngest daughter.
Errold drove 35 kilometers to catch us and give back the purse!!!!!
Actually we didn't know that people so nice and kind even existed.

We cannot recommend this place enough!!
If we just did not live in Denmark we would come back very very often.

Morten, Milla, Maja and Eva
Demark

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaLessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We absolutely loved La Pension - the overall experience made it the absolute best accommodation we stayed in during our SA trip (and we stayed in many...) The hosts are unique and special people - oozing with hospitality, the property is beautiful, and the rooms - immaculate. Excellent value for the price. Recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spronit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

It is a great B&B and really friendly hosts. It is a hidden gem. I would highly recomemnd staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamanshul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

We used La Pension as a benchmark for all the other B&Bs we stayed in whilst in South Africa and we found that none quite came up to the high standard they set.

They baked gluten free bread as my wife is intollarant and gave us all that was unused, it was a godsend later on in our holiday when we couldn't get hold of any.

The owners go out of their way to ensure a plesent stay.

We will recommend La Pension to anyone we know travelling to Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandS011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

i really enjoyed my evening at LA PENSION, together with the owners and other guests we were treated to a great dining experience in town. Breakfast at LA PENSION was also great, especially in the beautifully surrounding gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brynbrynJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We were guests at La Pension for 3 days and it was fantastic. Our kids had a great time as there's plenty to do in the Oudtshoorn area. The B & B is set in a beautiful garden, the rooms are clean & comfortable and Errol & Venita were very gracious hosts with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davef25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
535 reviews
15.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 81 in Oudtshoorn
615 reviews
9.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $96 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing