We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Oudtshoorn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #3 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived in a torrential downpour but our host was still came out there with an umbrella welcoming us in. Lots of excellent advice and a lovely breakfast. Also visited the Kango caves and Kango Ostrich Farm which were close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    44
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
170
264
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We are from Knysna area having a short break and wanted to do the meerkat experience which required an early start nearby. Really enjoyed our stay - very comfortable. Quality throughout from good beds, linen etc, all the special little touches. Homely décor and really appreciated the underfloor heating for the cold nights. Lovely gardens and pool. Friendly and welcoming hosts. Have already recommended to UK visitors and will stay again if passing that way.
Good value price wise too.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults ant two children that stayed one night in the cottage of La Pension. The place is very nice, tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. "Ve" (the owner of La Pension) was very nice and hepful to us, providing very wise advice on activities to do in the area. We felt all the time as is we were at home. It is certainly a very recommended place to stay in Oudtshorn!!. Thanks a lot for a lovely stay, Venita!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvador_Campana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Pension. The cottage was lovely! Nice big rooms with huge beds, small kitchen and a perfect bath room. All in a beautiful garden with swimming pool, in a quiet neighbourhood of Oudtshoorn. Our hostess Tilly was great, she really made is feel at home. She is a lovely person and she makes delicious breakfasts! We really enjoyed our stay and we love to come back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Superb setting and very friendly hosts. Excellent and convenient accomodation. It has been a while since I have found a place where you get all these attributes at such an affordable rate. Good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of the best guesthouses we have stayed in. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and, as it was winter, they put the heat on...which many guesthouses did not! Great grounds and pool and they are superbly maintained. Lots of secure parking onsite. Breakfast was a treat, and Telly made sure you did not leave without ensuring you were well fed and happy. The owners take great pride in this place, which shows. Overall a great experience and we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constantia, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family spent one night at La Pension. Our host was very friendly and made us feel at home. We stayed in the family room which was perfect for us. The garden is very spacious with ample space for the children to enjoy themselves. We will highly recommend La Pension.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
289 reviews
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#1 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Property: La Pension Guest House
Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing