We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of the best guesthouses we have stayed in. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and, as it was winter, they put the heat on...which many guesthouses did not! Great grounds and pool and they are superbly maintained. Lots of secure parking onsite. Breakfast was a treat, and Telly made sure you did not leave without ensuring you were well fed and happy. The owners take great pride in this place, which shows. Overall a great experience and we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family spent one night at La Pension. Our host was very friendly and made us feel at home. We stayed in the family room which was perfect for us. The garden is very spacious with ample space for the children to enjoy themselves. We will highly recommend La Pension.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was one of the best guesthouses I've stayed in. A husband and wife own the house and are some of the nicest people I've meet along my travels. Being a solo traveler, they made me feel welcome and at home. The grounds are lovely, great area by the pool to relax. Right down the street from all the restaurants. There is a separate entrance for guests, so you can come and go as you please. The rooms are spacious and clean and breakfast is great! I would come here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FindingAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a good experience. Friendly, helpful, rooms outstanding, breakfast so yummy, ambience so tranquil, well situated. We enjoyed every minute and will definitely be back. All the best for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did a trip to Margate for African bike week and La Pension was our first stop, the welcome we got was fantastic its was like we had arrived home. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated,its was the best breakfast love the personal touch, thank Vee and Errol for making us so welcome and going out of your way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernadeterawstorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the cottage at La Pension and was thrilled by the meticulous detail of it all. This guesthouse exceeded our expectation and we wished we could have stayed longer. The kindness and hospitality that we experienced was amazing and the breakfasts were just wonderful!

This was an ideal place for our families and the children loved every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YvetteandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

During our recent visit to the KKNK (2013) in Oudtshoorn, we stayed privately with a dear friend and had a whale of a time.
We also scouted around for reasonable accommodation “with that extra touch”. Tilly, our friend, arranged a meeting and introduced us to the owners of the La Pension Guest House. The welcome, as we got out of the car was overwhelming as both Venita and Errol, busy in the garden at the time, came to introduce themselves with all the warmth and hospitality courtesy that immediately instilled that feeling of “welcome to our place”. We were taken on a guided tour through their private house were we were introduced to the glamor of the old splendour of the house that were enhanced with a touch of modern changes here and there. First impressions were that of glamor and splendour but with a warm homey feeling of a family home.
The walk through the garden reminded me that what the “Garden of Eden” must have looked like. Beautiful layout, well maintained and with little corners and nooks that you can sit to enjoy the whole ambiance of the garden that is a real haven for all the different bird species that frequent themselves in the luscious surroundings of this beautiful garden.
The different accommodations available are of outstanding nature and cater for all tastes and family sizes.
The guest house consists of a double room, 2 x twin rooms, and a family suite. The communal lounge has TV with Pay/DSTV (select channels) and a ll the rooms are tastefully decorated, air-conditioned and all have en-suite bathrooms
The charming cottage was built in 1905 and oozes character. It consists of a double (Queen) room, twin room, lounge with TV and Pay/DSTV (select channels), kitchenette and a full bathroom. The cottage is very private with its own entrance and off street parking behind automated gates
We concluded our “accommodation fact finding mission” by enjoying a few sun downers with the owners, superb hosts and now friends, Errol and Vinita, at the swimming pool area. Our conclusion is that the La Pension Guest House is great value for money that will want to make you to extend your stay and repeatedly come back this “Garden of Eden” in Oudtshoorn.

Room Tip: You will return for another stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danie W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $85 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing