We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Pension, Oudtshoorn, South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Pension Guest House
Ranked #2 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“La Pension, Oudtshoorn, South Africa”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A genuine, friendly well managed guest house with resident and very pleasant owners. Everything is high quality and very well maintained and guests are genuinely welcome. This. Guest house sets a really high standard, much better than similar establishments with a wonderful and relaxed setting, great gardens and pool and nothing is too much trouble. It is well placed for a variety of visits and for the town and restaurants. Other places are not likely to meet these standards, do stay with confidence.

Room Tip: All very good, all modern and very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irthlingborough43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    47
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
183
270
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The owners could not have been more welcoming. We were a group of five adults who stayed here on a 10 day tour of the Garden Route. The location of the house is superb - a leafy and tranquil spot close to the town's museum, shops and restaurants and walking distance to a large pool (as well as the one on site). The garden is stunning and the patio ambiance unbeatable - even the lemons we ate taste nice !! The bathrooms were big and beds comfy. All in all we couldn't have asked for anything more. There aren't many places I would choose to go back to, but this one I must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yv202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at La Pension and were delighted with all aspects of our stay.

Received a very warm and genuine welcome from the owners Errol and who frankly could not have done more to make us feel at home.

Our room was large, airy and spotlessly clean - as was the en suite bathroom. The garden area was lovely and appeared to maintained to a high standard. On the day we arrived the temperature was in the high 30'sC so the pool was most welcome.

Breakfast was served on the terrace, fresh fruit and juice followed by an English breakfast
Set us up for a days trip sightseeing.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay for two nights in La Pension, together with our children (8 and 10 years old). Everything was perfect, rooms nicely furnished and spotlessly cleaned. The children enjoy the garden and the pool tremendously, and my husband and myself enjoy peacefullness and beauty. A big thanks for Tilly who made our stay there fantastic.

Room Tip: They have a family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalize31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Everything was perfect for our 2 days stay here. The rooms are confortable and perfectly clean. Double bed a little small for a couple, for the rest everything ok.
Attentiopn to details and a very good breakfast.

The highest point is the garden, beauty and peace to spend the HOT afternoons of the summer.
You can stay at La Pension without a doubt!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shunets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This place provided an excellent stopover. It was in a fine, quiet location, but still within a 15 minute walk of a number of restaurants. The menus were thoughtfully provided by the B&B and we selected Jemima’s – good choice!

Our hosts were away during the time we stayed, but we were well looked after by the ‘locum’ manager who gave us a very welcome drink on arrival.

The room was nicely furnished, but the bed was rather small being only 4’ 6” wide. Fortunately both my wife and I are on the slender side! Also, there was no fridge or TV (but there was a separate TV lounge). The bathroom was excellent, being beautifully fitted out with good quality fittings. The room was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was a pleasant, relaxed affair, being served outside by the swimming pool – really nice. The fruit cocktail ‘starter’ deserves special mention – it was truly excellent.

Overall a very good stopover – recommended. And yes, we would stay again.

Room Tip: See if they have a room with a bigger bed! We're not used to a narrow 4'6" one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very well decorated. Good ubication. Nice bathroom. A great backyard to spend lazy hours.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pension Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pension Guest House

Property: La Pension Guest House
Address: 169 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pension Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an acre in a quiet leafy suburb in Oudtshoorn, La Pension provides the perfect setting. Relax in the magnificent park-like gardens or enjoy sundowners at the large sparkling pool with sauna and bar in close proximity. Tastefully decorated spacious en-suite rooms offer both self-catering and B&B accommodation. A choice of indoor and outdoor BBQ facilities.La Pension is centrally situated, within easy walking distance of excellent restaurants and a short drive from Ostrich show farms and the renowned Cango Caves.For bird lovers a great variety of different species - often a cacophony of sound as they play and feed at well located feeders.Described by many guests as a little piece of paradise - rated by the Tourism Grading Council as " Superior Accommodation" and by the AA as Superior in the Guest House/B&B self-catering categoryCome and experience a memorable "home away from home" experience with Errol and Venita ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Pension Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing