We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial ostrich farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Colonial ostrich farm”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the old mill only one night on our way to addo from cape town but could have easily stayed longer! The farm has a very colonial feel, green watered grass, cape dutch farmhouses, gardeners and cleaners working, bunch of local kids playing.. What seem like old labourers cottages have been renovated and converted into incredibly well equipped rooms. We had two joined by a closed in stoep with a sleeper couch and well stocked kitchen, all new, big fridge, even had a snackwich machine!! Outside there was an ample veranda with a braai, all looking out on a river running by. One could easily stay a week or two and self-cater.

We ate in their restaurant, sitting once again on a stoep near the river, beautiful. The menu is wonderful if you like game and meat. Kudu, ostrich, springbok all there, served up beautifully and not extraordinarily priced. There is champagne on the wine list, which in effect is sparkling white and dont be fooled by the waiter who offers it as dry. Wonderful desserts too so a MUST if you stay either there or even near Oudtshoorn.

We had a swim in a lovely pool with never another guest in site even in high season. It seems The Old Mill is catered for large weddings, having a "broekies-lace" gazebo and huge entertaining area all looking out onto green gardens and beautiful mountains.

Breakfast was wonderful and ample in true traditional style. Dont expect to see baby ostrich on the grass in the gardens though, they are kept just outside the main gate in a dusty grassless area and albeit curious are skittish and afraid of visitors. I'm sure we were there off season for the baby ones but were expecting more contact with them somehow.

All in all a beautiful, romantic and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonranwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    85
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
101
99
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thanks Doret and your team for an amazing stay,your BB is so convenient very close to the Cango Caves the food from your restaurant was nice and fresh and the views were superb as well as the accommodation was neat as a pin.i would definately use you guys again keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faizal i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived after a very long drive and was greeted friendly when we arrived. We were very tired and was relieved to go the restaurant and not all the way back into town again for dinner. food was well presented and tasty. The room we got was very neat.Happy that we choose a b&b that was surrounded with many activities and not so far from the caves. big variety to choose from the next morning with breakfast. good little spot in the mountains.

Room Tip: Close to the swimming Pool is nice in the summer. In winter close to the Restuarant is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. We were surprised to see how big the establishment is. We loved the the fact that we could take pictures with the ostriches! We had a lovely meal at the restaurant and the staff was also very helpful with wine tasting directions and routes, with one almost next to them. We had a room that had everything we needed. Will definitely visit this holiday farm again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was my second time at Old Mill Country lodge. The 1st time was great. We went there about 3 years ago. The place was beautiful, some tamed wild walking around in the camps, great food and couzy guest rooms. That why the second time around we found it very hard to believe that the Old Mill Country lodge was even better. They are continuously improving the place. The restaurant had a new menu with more options to choose from. Swimming area was added for the kids near the restaurant and rooms.

The location of Old Mill lodge is perfect if you want to go to the surrounding adventures like cango caves, croc farm etc.

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottem near the tame wild would be a good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Old Mill is a beautiful establishment, 'perfect for a getaway' I thought when we arrived driving into the venue... We were there for a wedding.

We stayed in the self catering apartments and it was really tiny. The double bed were two singles pushed together and had tiled floors. It was freezing cold in the evening and as I didnt have socks with me, my feet ached when I had to walk around on those tiles. There is a little heater there attached to the wall that warmed up the room a bit but as they say, hot air rises and those tiles were icy, also the bedding was uncomfortably cold.
There wasnt a tv in the room either for some background noise! Neither was there signal to call or keep in touch with home!

On a more positive note, the surroundings were stunning and the staff lovely but if I could have camped outside I would have preferred that to staying in the room. There was a small breakfast spread in the morning, but it was tasty.

It was an interesting experience however I wont be back there anytime soon!

Room Tip: I think they have 4 star accommodation by reception, I think those rooms would be alot better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazi-Jvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We went for a long lunch while waiting for our hotel to get our rooms ready. The ostrich steak was the best mean of the trip! Our group also ordered the Kudu kabob which was very good as well, and the springbok pancake that was a bit under seasoned.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank littleroosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
478 reviews
9.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
9.8 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
187 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Address: Schoemanshoek Valley | Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a working ostrich farm in season & 4 Star Guest Lodge. Situated at the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains,14 km from Oudtshoorn , exactly halfway between Oudtshoorn and the World Famous Cango Caves.We offer hiking, fishing, two swimming pools , horse riding and we are nearby the Cango Ostrich Farm.Enjoy lunch or dinner in our a la carte Restaurant , with a view of the Grobelaarsriver that crosses our farm. Restaurant open everyday with specials! It is a historic building with the Old Watermill still inside the Restaurant. Approx. 150 Years old. The farm obtained its name from the old mill. All the wheat from the valley was milled on the farm. At that stage there were hundreds of mills all over the country. In Oct. 2003 Christo and his wife Doret Spies, changed the old building into an a la carte Restaurant, with 12 x 4 star rooms next to the Restaurant. We are situated in an area called Schoemanshoek / Schoemanspoort, Cango Valley / Cango Road. We specialize in Venison and Ostrich dishes. We also have lamb, beef fillet, chicken, pasta and many more to choose from. It is a peaceful farm atmosphere and you will have an unforgettable stay with us.Also the perfect location for WEDDINGS , FUNCTIONS & CONFERENCES. Hosts up to 300 people with a spacious dance floor, undercover BBQ facilities, swimming pool area & garden gazebo for your perfect ceremony. Gazebo seats up to 200 people. The venue has a spectacular view of our farm and the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains. We supply internet service, screens, telephone & fax service, sound systems, a slide and photocopying service and full secretarial and administrative support for your conference. We have 40, 4-star rooms to accommodate the guests and also two Restaurants: an la carte Restaurant or Buffet Restaurant to choose from to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing