We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: African, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge's A la Carte Restaurant offers local Karoo cuisine with the perfect atmosphere to enjoy while listening to the hippos playing in the water. The surrounding wooden deck overlooking the 5 hectare natural waterhole makes it the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail while watching the sunset over the hills. During the cold winter months a huge fireplace offers a cosy alternative and as accompaniment, our wine selection consists of some of the best award-winning wines on Route 62. Guests can make reservations for our Buffet Breakfast from 07:00 - 11:00 and for Lunch and Dinner from our A la Carte Menu from 11:00 - 22:00. With all the zesty products, facilities and amenities under one roof, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is the ideal choice for all corporate functions, events, weddings, celebrations, seminars & team building. It also has a grand piano as prominent feature. A unique bush veld experience in the heart of the Klein Karoo.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A hotel-like breakfast buffet by the damn. Food is plenty, selection and quality good. If you are staying in the area for a longer while, could be a nice idea for a morning at least for the nature set up even if you can find better food and service elsewhere. Nothing serious to complain about.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank uneton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    199
    56
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place by the guesthouse we were staying in, and told about the deck from which you could watch the animals. Though I'd been told about it I was not expecting how good this really was.
We visited at lunchtime and ate the burgers and wedges, followed by a dessert, all washed down with a bottle of wine. Everything was absolutely delicious, made extra special by the breathtaking view and warm sun. It was also very reasonably priced compared to the UK, my home country which unfortunately can't even hope to offer the experience this lovely setting can.
Although we didn't see any hippos during lunch, the fish swimming in the dam were huge and good fun to feed (they follow you around the deck), and the brightly coloured birds with their dome shaped nests in the nearby trees were also good to watch. I've never had lunch anywhere where signs are displayed warning diners not to swim I'm the dam because of hippos!
Because of how lovely it all was, we visited the next day to ride the elephants, great fun, and we finally saw the hippos too!
I would definitely recommend this place as a "must visit" while staying in the area. I'd imagine the sunsets are spectacular here.

Helpful?
Thank Mrs_W_01032017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise in Karoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Love every second! ,in the Karoo and that's miles away from Caves and not many ostriches as other places in OUDTSHOORN -area-a new look for me ,who always enjoyed ocean places ,me come back again ,going try summer next time the swimming pool here look great ,but winter you must be brave!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Meat to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We and 3 other couples - fellow travellers - sat together in this restaurant. We were looked after extremely well, and the food was excellent. Local beef and ostrich steaks could have been cut with a spoon, and were truly delicious. Local wine was also excellent. Unfortunately as it was after sunset, we could not see the 'animals watering hole'. However, we went back the next day at sunset, and sat on a peninsula viewing platform to watch the animals. A beautiful setting, but no animals - wrong time of year?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Overall the restaurant serves really good food, especially the Buffelsdrift salad, the bobotie and the ostrich fillet. But the view is what sets this restaurant apart. It is simply amazing.

At sunset, hippos enter the lake and swim/walk towards the restaurant. You can see them from say 20ft distance, unlike anywhere else (except for the zoo). Priceless!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HanWeegink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing