We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oue Werf Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Sadly we only had a one night stopover scheduled by our tavel agent, but fortunately on the last Friday in the month when the establishment organises a social in their grounds for all the locals to attend - involving a guitar playing singer, & many different stalls to buy different choices of outdoor/barbecue food from - all great fun & good value. As for the Ostrich Farm itself, we were given a great welcome by the owner's daughter who helps run the place - which has been adapted brilliantly. We were in a luxurious converted stable block with all facilities inc air con (a necessity in this very hot area). There were extensive beautiful gardens, a nice size pool & a lake + adjacent church with a biblical garden. All of this was within easy reach of plenty of interesting attractions. Good free Wi Fi in the house & a nice breakfast make this place a must to spend a few days at.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
51
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Oue Woerf exceeded our expectations in every way from the bucolic setting replete with rolling green manicured lawns, an inviting duck pond with a small rowboat moored at the dock, fabulous rose gardens and other maginificent flowers and the ostrich family keenly interested in our arrival - to the magnificent mountainous surounds and proximity to the Congo Caves and the challenging Swartsberg Pass. Given our busy travel schedule we opted to have dinner at Oue Werf in the beautiful 19th century dinning room - furnished with priceless family heirlooms - the tables were glittering in candle light reflected in inviting tableware. The dinner was home cooked and delicious and included SA options of Ostrich steak and malva pudding and ice-cream. We retreated to our own litle cottags with its quaint dutch door looking out on the pond. The cottage was delightfully spacious and had full amenities including a large soaker bathtub and seperate walk-in shower. We highly recommend Oue Werf - Karen and Steve - Vancouver Canada

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed overnight at this lovely guest house. It is situated some 12kms North of Outshoorn, close to a church, on route to the Cango Caves that are well worth the time to visit. It also does lunches and afternoon teas for non-residents but never seems to be crowded. The accommodation is set into cottages dotted around the central building. They are all lovely period buildings that have been made into very comfortable rooms. There is also a very nice cottage where we slept. The staff are lovely with a farming family owning the property. It is run by 2 lovely ladies, mother and daughter who are charming and nothing is too much trouble. My partner is disabled and the lovely daughter went to special rfforts to ensure our comfort. We also stayed for dinner which was excellent. The swimming pool is large with sunbeds alongside. The location and hospitality was so good that we detoured for lunch on a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crhardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at this guest house which comprised of a range of different buildings on a working ostrich farm, which provided a really nice setting. The grounds were spacious and we enjoyed walking around them . All the buildings were however within a short distance of the main house which served both breakfast and evening meal if requested. We took advantage of the eveing meal option enjoying home cooking of ostrich steaks which were delicious. Our room was a lovely detached building. It was well set out, spacious, nicely decorated with a rustic feel, An excellent way of ending the day was sitting on the verandah drinking a glass of wine. Overall a relaxing and pleasant place to stay. There was even a free car washing service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We found this place by pure luck, the B&B we wanted to stay at was full and they recommended this place. It was really a great place to stay. The room was nice and very cozy. The grounds where very well kept and it was a real pleasure to stay here, calm and beautiful setting. It was also a great location for day trips to Cango caves and an ostrich farm near by (walking distance). We have 2 children and they had a blast climbing up to the tree house and take the slide that went over a big pond. But the big + at this place is the food! We actually stayed an extra day to eat the same meal again! and that never have happen to us. We are traveling around the world for 1 year so we have eaten on so many good restaurants but this one was a real surprise. The ostrich steak cooked by the daughter in the house was just delicious and at such a good value for your money. I really recommend this place,

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlingFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We randomly stopped at Oue Werf Guesthouse on the suggestion of our guide book, and we were so glad that we did! We did not want to stay in the bustling town of Oudtshoorn, and this country guesthouse, just a few Km north of town and tucked into a copse of trees, was the perfect alternative; it was one of the best places we stayed in South Africa on our 2-week trip. A working farm handed down through 6 generations, the antique furniture, photographs and rustic farm equipment in the historic main house revealed how lovingly the current generation cared for the place.

We stayed in Bungalow 3, which was tucked away from the other buildings by a large tree, so it was very private and quiet. The king bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a large walk-in shower and separate soaking tub. There was a setup for tea and coffee in the bungalow, so we could enjoy a sunny morning sipping tea with biscuits on the little patio in the back that faced the orchard.

The overall compound was impeccably kept. We lounged by the salt water pool in the hot afternoon and then ate dinner in the main house: ostrich carpaccio, ostrich steaks, and a selection of vegetables. Breakfast was light and fresh, with options for eggs, breads, cereals and fruit with yogurt.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boulders Lodge & Spa
Boulders Lodge & Spa
#25 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#21 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Le Roux's Guest House
Le Roux's Guest House
#18 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oue Werf Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oue Werf Guesthouse

Property: Oue Werf Guesthouse
Address: Schoemanshoek Valley Road | 15 km north of Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oue Werf Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Oue Werf Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing