We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the desert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Denne Country Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Denne Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We ended up staying at De Denne by chance. We hadn't planned to visit Oustdhoorn but when we did, we found De Denne in the Portfolio accommodation book and we're so glad we did - it ended being the unexpected highlight of our trip.
The setting is beautiful and so unique - how often can you cool off in the pool surrounded by ostriches?! The accommodation was beautifully decorated but best of all, the food was divine. As well as sampling ostrich steak, the whole meal was just delicious - proper home-cooked food.
And the morning of our departure, we did a tour of the farm. Very informative, interesting and best of all, we got up close and personal with the baby ostriches.
Very memorable and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howlsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    47
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
90
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We just stayed one night at De Denne, but I wish we had stayed longer!
As other reviewers have mentioned, Bruno the labrador adopted us as soon as we arrived and barely left our side until we checked out, he was a fantastic guard dog! We had a walk with him around all the farm area, it was very relaxed and we could wander wherever we wanted.
The location is stunning, outside of Oudtshoorn so very peaceful with views of the mountains all around. We did drive into the town centre, it was only about 10-15 minutes so not far at all.
The cottage was very nice, although a bit small if you were staying for longer. The bathroom was very large and there was a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, kettle etc.
The swimming pool was lovely but unheated so too cold for us to go in (I did try!), we had a relaxing afternoon and evening there sitting in the sun after a long drive from Hermanus. We opted for the braii dinner, there was so much food and it was really good sitting outside cooking our ostrich steaks, it was nice to have this option rather than having to drive into Oudtshoorn to eat.
Breakfast was very nice, a good choice with hot food cooked to order. I would recommend this guesthouse if you are planning a trip to Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gill_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed just one night at De Denne, but it was such a beautiful place and we had a very warm welcome. We would have stayed more nights, but we had to continue our trip!!! Great dinner with the BBQ prepared by Louise and Johan, at the sunset. And Bruno, a beautiful dog was with us all the evening! Very very happy of our stay at De Denne. Best place we stayed at in South Africa. Sara&Stefano

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_psq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Right from the start, we knew De Denne was a great choice for our stay in Oudsthoorn. We had a very warm welcome and then Bruno the Labrador introduced himself and much to the delight of my children - he appointed himself their chaperone and never left their side.
We had one of the family cottages and did our own catering. We enjoyed the open fire in the cottage.
A super and unexpected bonus was the WiFi in the cottage.
The children were able to wander freely around the farm and enjoyed the ostriches.
We are really pleased that we chose to stay on the outskirts of Oudsthoorn.
The kids LOVED Cango Caves and Wilgewandel Farm.
On the morning of our departure, our mucky car had been given a complimentary wash and we were almost sorry to be moving on.
We bid farewell to Bruno and Louise.
De Denne have learned that attention to detail costs little but matters a great deal to their guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

If you need a tranquil break, then De Denne guest house is just the place for you. It is situated 10 km outside Oudtshoorn on 'n beautiful ostrich farm. We stayed in a family cottage which was perfect for us with our 3 young children.

The cottage was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Stunning bathroom with everything you would need. I have seen the other rooms too and they are also very lovely and spacious with luxuriuos bathrooms.

The surroundings are wonderful and peaceful with a beautiful view of the Swartberg mountains. One can just sit on the veranda the whole day long and admire the view. Our children had a glorious time there on the farm.

The owner, Johan Keller, and Louise, the manager, are very warm and hospitable. We felt so welcome from the very start. The rest of the saff members are very professional,friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a feast each morning with a sellection of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts and tradissional English breakfast. It is served in a beautiful diningroom with a great atmosphere.

I can really recommend De Denne guest house!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanneline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

The cottage is clean, fully equipped and with beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Louise and Johan were great hosts. As for Bruno, he is such a lovely dog. He encouraged me to get a dog one day. Thanks again for an unforgettable 3 day stay at your cottage. And yes it will be our halfway house on our route to and from East London to Cape Town.
Thanks again, Anne Maria, Cape Town. We were there from the 20 to the 22 March 2010

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namubiruam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

Location:
Good location, a little outside Oudtshoorn. On the way to the swartberg pass, and lots of other fantastic drives.
Cottage:
Really nice. We were on our honeymoon, and when we arrived, they had roses and champagne in the room and chocolate covered strawberries in the fridge. The cottage was really nice, and it was seperate from the main house which gave us lots of privacy.
Facilties:
Great swimming pool, although it was a bit to cold to use in October! Located on an ostrich farm. Two really friendly dogs.
Breakfast:
Not bad, but not brilliant either. Juice tasted a bit artificial and fruit was from a can.
Dinner:
We got the braai package. This included fresh ostrich steak, mashed potatoes, veg and salad. We also got a really nice bottle of wine. A braai and wood was provided, and Johann helped with setting it up and cooking the ostrich. This was great as we got to have a chat with him and find out about farming life in SA. All of this for two people cost 340 ZAR.
Staff:
Couldn't have been nicer. We were really warmly welcomed from the minute that we arrived. Louise was incredibly helpful, and went to a lot of trouble with the champagne etc. and the braai preparation. Johann had loads of local knowledge and really seems to enjoy spending time with guests. When we got up in the morning, our car had been washed. A nice surprise.

Overall, this was one of the real finds of our holiday. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandrk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
12.0 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#11 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Property: De Denne Country Guest House
Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing