We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Denne Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic travel experience! Beautifully appointed room, spacious and comfortable, with the most spectacular views. Their restaurant served a fabulous dinner with a lovely ambiance. We would highly recommend De Denne.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

It has been an honour having you here! You are such a lovely couple and it was great serving you. We are truly thankful for this beautiful review!! I will definitely tell Michael (the griller) and the kitchen staff that you have enjoyed their food :) May the rest of your year be blessed and wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 233 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

The guesthouse, located on a beautiful farm with nice garden and pool was a dream. We didn´t expext such a nice location. We had a wonderful dinner at night which was only served for the two of us! the staff was so friendly and gave a huge amount of effort, especially the lovely girl, who welcomed us! This was the best guesthouse we had booked on the garden route!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatjana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear guest, I can not find words that explain the appreciation I feel inside towards you giving us this lovely review. My staff are very happy to read this!! May your memories of De Denne and SA be with you always :) and motivate you to come back again.
Kindest regards
Louise Keller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Having been recommended to stay here from relatives back in Switzerland. We took our chances and luckily they had free rooms and we where on the way. We missed to say when we arrived so the reception was closed when we arrived... Although after giving a call on the cell phone Johan - the owner - arrived 5 min later with a charming big smile and we where sorted out within minutes. We was fortunate to get probably their best room - a big beautiful decorated room with an even bigger bathroom! As we arrived late the sun had already disappeared so we was blown away in the morning with a stunning view! At the implacable breakfast we met Rudi who gave an explicit service and an interest in our days planned adventure! It took us not long to realize that Rudi is an expert in the area with 17 years as a mountain guide in Swartbergen - Rudi has even written an genius traveler guide of the Swartberg Pass that we highly recommend... Without this guide you will probably miss tons of interesting things to see!

Initially we only wanted to stay one night but feeling that we was missing out on De Denne's charm, views, friendly and service minded staff we decided to stay another night!

De Denne has giving us the pleasure to relax, learn to breath South African air and enjoying breathtaking views!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MangoTangoSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Friend, Firstly I would like to thank your relatives suggesting to you to come and stay at De Denne, because of them we had the honour to have you here as our guests and share De Denne with you. Thank you for this absolutely beautiful review!!! As well as being such a nice couple, your friendliness and appreciation meant a lot to us :) We would love to have you visiting some time again - until then take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently stayed at De Denne for a wedding taking place on the farm, and from getting out of my car to leaving the property I was greeted with big smiles. Everyone is very helpful and friendly and the facilities were great! My room in particular was amazing, way more than I expected, big room, big bathroom with kitchen-net that has everything including my own patio with private braai area. Rudi the general manager was a star for the entire stay, its encouraging to see the gm running around, carrying bags, playing barman to waiter to running the property and all with a big smile. Also being in the hotel industry and the busy city life it was refreshing to come to a peaceful and beautiful escape. Well done to everyone! P.S. the food was amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnchenCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Anchen
Thank you for taking the time to give this beautiful review, it was such a pleasure having you guys here. I will ensure that the staff (including Rudi) gets a copy of this :) I do believe that they will truly appreciate it. Thanks again and we do hope to have you visiting soon :)
Kindest regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We keep coming back to De Denne because it’s such a lovely place and Johan and Louise are such nice people. The farm is about 15 miles outside Oudtshoorn, not too far to go in for dinner, yet you have the advantage of being out in the countryside. We love to sit on the patio and watch the sun set and the first stars appear of an evening – we never tire of the scents and sounds of the karoo.

Louise and Johan couldn’t be more pleasant and welcoming. Since our last visit 2 years ago, they have done a thorough upgrade, with 3 new cottages and some new rooms, as well as a lovely new dining room with views. Rudi knows the area like the back of his hand (be sure to pick up his guide book for the Swartberg Pass) and will tell you everything you want to know. We can’t comment about the breakfast, as we prefer to do our own in the cottage, but the dinner we had one evening was excellent. David had the ostrich steak, done on the braai just right, and I didn’t want any meat – they made me a tasty butternut risotto.

The service is excellent – the maids come in daily, and the gardener even washed our car every day. The only thing missing was Bruno, our canine friend, who is now getting old and has moved to Johan and Louise’s house.

Don’t miss High Gate, the show farm which Louise and Johan now also own. The tour is very informative and good fun. And the new shop is lovely – and the prices are as good as you’ll find.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annerose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Having Guests returning is an amazing honour, but receiving such a complimentary and motivational review is the best!! Thank you so much for this, I can not describe how fortunate we feel at this moment :) Having you visiting De Denne again and share all the changes and add-on's with us is so exciting! We are looking forward to your next visit to SA.
Take care
Kindest regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a fabulous place! Luxury in the midst of crazy but interesting birds :-)
We were greeted warmly on arrival by Shirley who was very friendly and lovely, a special thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.
The rooms are great with huge beds, clean bathrooms and a private terrace with beautiful views. We spent the afternoon in the pool and the lovely gardens watching the ostriches until dinner was served in the dining room by more friendly staff. And the grilled ostrich steak - wow - delicious!
Thank you also for cleaning our cars (they really did need it!)...what a nice surprise in the morning! Breakfast was great with lots to choose from. Our stay (only one night) was too short, will definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

WOW!!! Thank you :) I will ensure each and everyone of our staff will read this lovely review, as it is teamwork that made this possible. Appreciation for services rendered is such a motivation for us, it adds to our way of living and make our daily responsibilities not just a job but an expansion of what we believe in. Once again thank you so much :) The crazy birds are still doing cray things:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Peacefull and well equipped B&B situated with a lovely view over the Little Karroo. Rudi is a very friendly and attentive manager and makes the difference. We stayed at the honeymoon suite which is very beautiful. Tasty breakfast with big varieties. We recommend to book the ostrich farm visit via De Denne – our guide Koos offered a great tour sharing his profound knowledge of the business.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja_and_Kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

A Big thank you for taking the time to write this review! We will surely share this with both Koos and Rudi, they are both nature lovers and do have a lot of experience to share. Both of them have passion for what they do and I am truly glad that you enjoyed it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#8 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
353 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
12 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
938 reviews
17.3 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $111 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing