We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay - especially when Rudi is in command!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Denne Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - especially when Rudi is in command!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Peacefull and well equipped B&B situated with a lovely view over the Little Karroo. Rudi is a very friendly and attentive manager and makes the difference. We stayed at the honeymoon suite which is very beautiful. Tasty breakfast with big varieties. We recommend to book the ostrich farm visit via De Denne – our guide Koos offered a great tour sharing his profound knowledge of the business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja_and_Kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
A Big thank you for taking the time to write this review! We will surely share this with both Koos and Rudi, they are both nature lovers and do have a lot of experience to share. Both of them have passion for what they do and I am truly glad that you enjoyed it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    50
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
95
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have an ostrich farm in Canada and we decided to go and spend a fiew days at De Denne Guest hoose . We were received by friendly staff and also by the ownwers Johan and Louise. What lovely people. After one day, we were as a part of the family. The accomodation was very comfortable with a wonderful ostriches views. We also decided to take the evening meal in the restaurant.The ostrich steak was amazing and perfect cook. The staff attentive and helpful. The breakfast was good and hearty. It's possible to do have a private guide tour. The staff communicate their love for this bird (ostrich). It's also possible to pet babies...We just a say thank you to Rudi, Louise, Johann and you know what ? We miss you a lot. And because of you we realised a dream to go in South Africa and to be at the ostrich paradize.

Annie and Nicolas from Québec (Canada)

Room Tip: They are all perfects !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buguannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dearest Annie & Nicolas
Often you meet people in your life just passing by and then you meet those who will be part of your life for ever. You and Nicolas are that to us! We have enjoyed your companionship and passion for what you are doing. Thank you for this beautiful review and most of all thank you for staying at De Denne. I will surely read your review to our staff, it will mean a lot to them :) Kindest regards Louise & Johan and all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed one night at De Denne in December 2013. The room was booked for us by the Oudtshoorn Tourist Office who gave us a choice of several options.

The farm is about 10 mins away by car from Oudtshoorn. To get there we travelled mostly on metalled roads but the final part was on a gravel road, with some uneven sections.

The guest-house is set in attractive gardens. Our room was good sized and luxurious with a large, well-appointed bathroom. There was an excellent view from our room of the surrounding countryside, although the fields of ostriches were some way away. There was a good small swimming pool, dinner and breakfast were of a good standard, and the service was friendly.

Although we had a good view of the ostrich farm at work from the pool area, a detailed tour was only available at a nearby show farm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalbansroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for such a lovely review. We truly appreciate it :) The Little Karoo do have its own kind of beauty with the mountain range and the flora. We are honoured to have had the opportunity to share this with you. May you visit again :) Kindest regards,Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our second stay at De Denne (last time was 2009) and we were equally pleased. We were greeted by friendly staff within just a few seconds of driving through the gates. The accomodation is very comfortable with pleasant views and with all you need to enjoy your stay. We also opted for the evening meal which was served in the restaurant...the ostrich steak was cooked to perfection and truly delicious. The staff attentive and helpful. The night was comfortable and breakfast was good and hearty.
It was also rather fun to walk around this working ostrich farm and watch these crazy birds and some of their antics in the fields.
Lastly, their was a kind personal welcome from the owner and farmer, Johan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for this heart warming review, and most of all thank you for returning!!! It is such an honour that you have chosen De Denne again :) I will give your compliments to the griller - he is doing great with the Ostrich steaks. I do agree with you that the Ostriches are quite funny AND we are glad to have them back on the farm after months of waiting since the bird flu. Take care and blessings for the festive season to you and your family. Kindest regards
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy/belgium
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed with my mother for one night at the De Denne Country Guest House. The guest house is quite far away from the city of Oudtshoorn and could only be reached by an untarred road. While this is ok with good weather, it could be tricky if it rains. The same could be said for the premises of the guest house. In fact, there are no paved / identified tracks between the building of the rooms and the building where breakfast and dinner are served. The result is that one has to to cross a lawn with some unpleasant consequences when it rains. Rooms are, however, spacious and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are huge. Dinner and breakfast were ok even if there was not that much choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest
We do take notice of your complaint. With regards to the gravel road (1.2km) to the Guest House we have done what we can to make it comfortable for our guests. As we are a working ostrich farm this road is not only used by our guests (if this could be possible it would have been great) but by the tractors and other farm vehicles as such.
With regards to your complaint about the lawn between the breakfast/dining room and the rooms - we have looked into that and will do a paved walk way from the rooms to the dining room. As this is our first complaint about that we have not notice this befor. Thank you for that.
As breakfast is your most imported meal of the day we do believe in having variety on the buffet (cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, cheeses, juices, coffee and tea) this is then complimented by the warm breakfast you can order from the menu. I am so sorry if what we have to offer have not been to your liking.
I would like to invite you to a complimentary stay on your next visit to Oudtshoorn to give us a chance to make your next stay a memorable one.
Kindest regards
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be invited to a wedding function at De Denne Guesthouse. I consider De Denne to be one of the most scenic and intimate settings I've have ever had the pleasure of visiting ! The expansive and panoramic views over the Swartberg Mountains was breath taking !! The views from the restaurant over the farm is exquisite. All this complimented by great service and the best weddings food I have ever tasted. Fantastic !! Well Done, De Denne, you raised the bar !

Room Tip: Enquire from reservations. They are all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfullWesternCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
What a lovely review, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Thank you also for appreciating the effort we and our staff put into De Denne to enable you to have great memories to take with on your journey of life. We do hope to have you visiting again. Kind regards Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a surprising spot in the middle of nowhere, far from madness and stuff. Just a luxurious room and bathroom and a terrace on the porch, for ourselves and Michael washing our car: needed cleaning after the Swartbergpasstrip!
And dinner was served in a nice restaurant, with very friendly and adequate staff to serve us, especially Shirley, she was so warm and friendly and uncomplicated, and interested in us, not as numbers or people passing, but the real interest. That kind of attitude we like so much. The tables were so nicely decorated! Ostrich steak : we loved it! Thank you for good Wifi, sometimes not so good. We wish you all the best, for there were not so many tourists when we were there. Out of season still, I hope. We will recommend you, anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lies20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisekeller, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for this beautiful review, and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here with us as well as your trip to the Swartgeberg mountain pass. It is truly amazing! I have already shared your review with our staff, thank you again as it meant a lot to them. Greetings from all of us at De Denne :) Kindest regards Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
901 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
314 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
12.0 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Property: De Denne Country Guest House
Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing