We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Denne Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked at de Denne based on the reviews from other travelers - so were really looking forward to our stay and had high expectations. Because we were traveling with our 9 month old baby we also specifically chose de Denne because of its self catering cottages. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the location is lovely - with a great farm feeling. Lots of grass to relax on which is great with kids. We were shown to our room and sort of surprised that a. The kitchen was tiny just one shelf really with no space to put anything and b. there was no table and chairs to eat on (not inside or outside) we settled ourselves and made the best of it. at about 5pm we were offered to be moved ( we didn't complain - they just came to us ) to another cottage with 2 bedrooms. This cottage was bigger and better for us but as far as self catering both units really fell short. The first unit only had one glass ( instead of 2) and the bathroom door didn't close properly. The kitchen is far too small - no space to chop an onion if need be. The second unit had a microwave whose cord didn't reach the plug point, no braai tongs or sharp knife. The furniture was very outdated and the towels were very thin and hard. The tv was an old style tv ( not a flat screen) which is not a problem but no attempt was made to hide the Cables hanging from the plug point - looked really untidy. This is not my idea of 4 star. So in short it's just really the cottages facilities that let this place down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeDenne_12, Owner at De Denne Country Guest House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house. Your feedback assists us in continuously providing a better service.
We have taken note of all your points raised and will strive to improve our offering to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    48
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
68
92
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My Partner and I planned a 3 night stay in Oudtshoorn.When searching for accommodation there was so many good options that we ended up staying at 3 different B&B for our 3 nights. De Denne was our last stop and we wish we had stayed there all 3 nights.Our cottage was very big and luxurious with a spectacular view over the Olifants and Swartberg mountians.As we visited in the middle of winter,it was very cold,but our cottage had a beautiful fireplace(with pre packed wood) and plenty of warm blankets with kept us warm and cosy for the evening.

We had a wonderfull stay at the De Denne,but what made it exteptional,was our host Rudi.He welcomed us in a very warm,sincere and friendly matter.We instantly felt at home.We had a private dinner on our verandah and Rudi went out of his way to prepare a BBQ pack for us which included a delicious Ostrich Fillet steak and mouth watering salads(a must when you stay there).In the morning we were lourned in with the smell of fresh coffee in the Main Homestead and had a lovely warm breakfast.Rudi was very informative and gave us a bit of history about the farm and oudsthoorn with was very interresting.Rudi is a true asset to the geusthouse.Thank you Rudi!hope you enjoyed the wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilanilouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We originally planned a 3-night stay and after our first night extended to a week! From the time we arrived at this perfect location with beautiful grounds and exceptional view, we experienced top-notch service. Personalized dinners set up on our private veranda were delicious (we ended up eating at the guest house 5 of the seven nights). The attention to detail in terms of service was five-star - each morning we awoke to find that the previous day's dust had been washed off our car!! One staff member in particular, Rudi, was knowledgable about the area, took the time to listen to what we liked, and then made PERFECT suggestions (and provided maps) that made exploring the area fun and easy. He even spent a bit of time on our first night showing us the Southern Cross and giving us a mini astronomy lesson. Finally, were were able to meet the owners on several occasions throughout our stay and found them to be caring, friendly, and welcoming. PS Rudy Rocks!!

Room Tip: Room 9 should have been called the Honeymoon Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_and_Larry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our group of 11 stayed here for one night and would have loved to stop for a few nights..the rooms were huge, the beds so comfortable, and the decor stunning. Rudi welcomed us and was most attentive. We dined in a lovelyroom, with homely food. Some bought ostrich leather products at good prices, and a few went star gazing with Rudi, and had the best ever view of Saturn. Most rooms had a fridge, which was a nice change for rooms in South Africa. We had a whole family room for just 2 of us, with a separate bedroom.. There was a pool, and the views were beautiful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A family room at the top for a kitchen and fridge. A room in the farmhouse, without the above, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved every minute of our 5 night stay. There was so much to do and see in and around Oudtshoorn, it brought back wonderful memories of my childhood in South Africa. The accommodation was very good, clean and comfortable. The view from our unit was magnificent. The atmosphere was one of peace and solitude, with beautiful starry nights. We appreciated the good sized pool after travelling around the countryside in the heat. Rudi, the manager, was full of useful information about the area and the food he prepared for us in the evenings was excellent. We learnt a great deal about ostriches and what fascinating creatures they are. He made it one of the best stops in a very busy itinerary. We hope to return. On one occasion we were joined in the pool by the owners children who were very happy to talk to us about the farm and surrounding area, and can I say what delightful and well mannered children they are. I can't imagine they would want to live anywhere else. So in a frenetic world it was good to stop and reflect on what a wonderful place De Denne is. Thank you Louise and Johann for providing such a haven.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited De Denne for the second time and for sure it will not be the last time. Loise and Johan are the best hostl. Rudi and Jacky and all the other servants did an excellent job and made our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Nice room, special food and after a trip it is nice to jump into the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

unfortunately there were no ostriches on the farm due to recent bird flu, which was my main reason to book this accomodation, but it was still worth while
I stayed 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot
Rudi greeted me and helped me with lots of info about the farm, area and what to explore
I had booked a braai and it was delish...nice salad, juicy ostrich steak, lots of veg and a nice desert as well, which was served on my patio
breakfast is served in the manor house, and you wont leave hungry ;-)
the cottage was nice and clean. some decor was made of ostrich leather and little geranium blossoms on pillows and towels added to the nice touch.
the farm is in the "middle of nowhere" (10 minutes drive to Oudtshorn) really nice and quiet with a stunning starry sky
perfect location to base yourself for trips in the Karoo area (Cango caves, Swartberg pass)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
7.0 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Property: De Denne Country Guest House
Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing