We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Denne Country Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at De Denne during the KKNK festival in Oudtshoon. The accomodation was so much more than we could have hoped for. The cottage was fully equipped, extremely comfortable and pristine. Every detail was taken care of. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us feel welcome and at home. We highly recommend De Denne, and can't wait to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very nice an quiet guesthouse with several cottages (No 5 was perfect!) 5 min outside Oudtshoorn. Small but refreshing pool, big garden with swings for children. Very nice landlords who serve great breakfast.
Very suitable for families with small children. Bruno the house-dog will look after them very carefully!!!
Air con.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We felt very warm welcomed from the first moment on.
The guest house was established nicely. They showed us the facilities and helped us with the luggage. Car was beeing cleaned during night which was very kind as it was really dirty after having driven through the Karoo.
Every time we asked sth. they answered with patience and offered us support e.g. restaurant and trip recommendations. Breakfast was delicious and the ostrich tour organized by them was wonderfu.!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieliebechristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Louise and Johan at 'De Denne' deserve a very positive review of their guest house, as they have done a great effort in restoring their historic property, turning it into a very comfortable classy home for their guests. And they keep up the good work by making sure you have a memorable stay with them ; the relaxing atmosphere is not only there through the wonderfull vista from the poolside-area and the quiet location, but also as a result of their very friendly and unintrusive way of welcoming you. For the best dinner experience, do not drive to town ( which is only 10 minutes away) but enjoy the best ostrich steaks you'll ever have right there at your own veranda ! Side dishes and desert compete for 'best taste' award, and breakfast in the morning is excellent. We also enjoyed a (pretty much private) tour of the ostrich farm. Despite the eradication of most ostrich in the region due to viral infection, we were given a very informative and pleasant tour, ending with the children holding some new-born birds...they loved it ! Certainly one of the best choices if you're planning to stay in the Oudtshoorn area !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefaanVanKets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We've stayed at De Denne 3 times and loved it each time. It is set about 10km out of town in a beautiful peaceful setting. The cottages are all of a high standard and you can have peace and quiet away from the other guests. There is a nice pool to cool off in at the end of the day, it gets hot in summer. Good breakfast and evening meal if you want it. Bruno the dog is definitely the star of De Denne and we all fell in love with him, especially our two boys. A great stop over on the garden route and Oudtshoorn definitely worth a weekend of your time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Wow! This place really is amazing. The rooms are huge and ours had recently been redone. We stayed in the main guest house, the building of which is 120 years old and furnished stylishly with antiques. We also enjoyed their hospitality as we stayed for dinner in the main guest house. As my wife and I both do not eat meat (and my wife does not eat gluten) they tailored their menu around us and the private candlelit dinner was perfect for our honeymoon (as was the complimentary bottle of champagne and flowers in the room). The guest house is a convenient drive from Cango caves and they also organise tours of ostrich farms which were incredibly informative and fun. The guest house also benefits from stunning views.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We recently spent (unfortunately) ONLY ONE night at this wonderful establishment and we really enjoyed every moment. From the well appointed rooms to the incredibly delicious ostrich steak prepared by owner Johan on the open fire. It was so wonderful to start our weekend off with so much luxury, wonderful food, attention to detail. It was just an overall wonderful experience. May the Keller-family, including the adorable Bruno, be blessed in abundance. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#9 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
350 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
7.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
337 reviews
14.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#6 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Denne Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Denne Country Guest House

Address: De Denne Guest House | Volmoed, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $109 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Denne Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Denne Country Guest House gives you tranquillity, spectacular views and soul touching moments. Sunsets you will never find elsewhere and hospitality to make you feel at home. Our accommodation comprises of 8 beautiful cottages and 5 ensuite bedrooms with views of the surrounding farmlands and majestic mountains.We also serve light meals in addition to our most popular BBQ Dinners.Perfect for romantic getaways or family fun time.Modern amenities with an old world charm – let the Little Karoo surround you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Denne Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing