We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Denne Country Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
179
59
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
59
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking ostrich farmostrich steakguest housepeaceful environmentmorning tourcleaned every morningostrich leatherboth dinner and breakfastbooked dinnerostrich tourstayed one nightswartberg passrestaurant staffappointed roomsthis wonderful placewarm welcomethe main house
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 258 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Louise, Johan and Bruno made us feel at home. Our cottage (#1) was well equipped and very comfortable. One can take a stroll through the (vast) Ostrich Farm, or just relax around the swimming pool, and enjoy the sun and views. Oudtshoorn is just 10km from De Denne, and for the hikers and 4x4-enthusiasts there is Gamkaberg Nature Reserve (~25km, direction Calitzdorp).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

On 29 / 30 March 2011 we stayed for 2 days at De Denne. Although this charming guest house is part of a working ostrich farm one immediately has a feeling of being 'at peace with nature'. The personal attention by our hosts and staff (especially Aida) was a wonderful experience. Our inquiry, if dinner was an option, resulted not only in the dinner but also extended to hands-on instructions on how to barbecue Ostrich Steak. Given our time constraints we also very much appreciated getting our laundry done and waking up to a washed car. The room layout and fittings were superb. We look forward to visiting De Denne again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We spent 2 nights here with our 3 boys ages 8,11 & 14. We had a lovely relaxing time. The setting is stunning, the rooms beautiful but what really made our stay so special were the lovely couple who own and run the ostrich farm, Louise and Johan.We ate at the farm. The first night we all had something different from the "light" menu & the second night we all had ostrich steak BBQ. The food & wine were great as were the breakfasts. A special mention for the fruit salad which was the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma123Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

me and my girlfriend stayed 2 nights (16.03 - 18.03. 2011) in this wonderful guest house which is located approx. 10 minutes outside of oudtshoorn. the room was perfect - we had both evenings dinner at the guesthouse and everything was really great. we also got help concerning our daily trips (reservations for game drives, etc.) and we also got supported for our following days in Knysna (things to do, recommendation for guest house, etc.).

over all it was just perfect and we had such a great time (especially thanks to Aida). I would defentely recommend the De Denne Country Guest House at any time!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Fleischhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I would definately recommend this wonderful place to anyone!! It was very tranquil and a wonderful outlook, the staff are fantastic and very informative and made us really feel at home. We look forward to the next visit in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dog050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews