We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A HIDDEN GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just discovered this little hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spread all over, but well equipped and offer you everything you need. Breakfast is good and locastion excellent. Enough restaurants in the area to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    100
    41
    4
    7
See reviews for
72
122
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
223 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having decided to drive the garden route and not book accommodation some might have thought this risky. When we stumbled upon The Turnberry we were over joyed. They had just one room left and it was a sweet little garden "cottage" with two ENORMOUS beds and fabulous crisp white cotton sheets. The temperatures were up in the 40's and we enjoyed sitting in the cosy pool area enjoying a drink from the hotel bar. The staff, as I see mentioned in earlier TA reviews, could not have been more helpful. There was excellent wifi which was useful as we had reason to be in touch with family at home. For supper the hotel suggested several places to dine (they do meals at the hotel but advised us no one else was dining that night and we might rattle around the room on our own which was kind, no one likes to eat in an empty restaurant). As we'd eaten a late lunch we opted to eschew the suggested places to eat and take our chances at a bar around the corner - what a great decision. A very funky bar called Brians Grill which offered us the perfect night out. A good bar man who was attentive and a long menu of simple food. We got into conversation with a wonderfully interesting man who was a wild plant forager - what a great night and the food was good too, not haute cuisine but very well prepared and cooked meals. Our only disappointment was discovering we had not rolled enough time into our drive to visit Prince Albert which comes highly recommended. So if you pass through town and want a good bed to sleep in, friendly staff, a decent breakfast and a central location look no further than The Turnberry Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We found the hotel to be very centrally-located with plenty of parking and friendly staff. The receptionist went out of her way to organise a table for us at a nearby restaurant, as it was Valentine's night. It was nice to start the evening at the inn. The room was both spacious and clean. It passes the 'would I stay again' test very easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 147DCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

From the friendly and helpful staff, to the comfortable room, great location, inviting pool and tasty food, I really have no complaints. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would personally look at staying here again if I was ever in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karisanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Turnberry hotel for two nights in December, the staff were very friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean and the food was absolutely fantastic! The only downfall was the noisy people in the room above us which couldn't be helped!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lydia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We checked in for a one night stay and was most impressed with Turnberry. Friendly greeting from the receptionist and kindly saw us up to our room and explained all the in's and out's. Must say room was spacious and very well appointed. The large bed was most comfortable and enjoyed an excellent nights sleep. Air conditioning in our room was adequate and we had a comfortable night sleeping. The grounds were well maintained and the pool looked most inviting. Unfortunately we wed on a tight schedule so did not have time to partake of breakfast or even have a drink in the bar the night before. I can say with utmost confidence I will be staying at Turnberry when next in Oudtshoorn

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room on the ground floor. Tiresome dragging cases up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breteuil, France
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very good location, comfortable bedrooms despite the poor air conditioning. Average quality of breakfast. Excellent staff who organised everything for the restaurant booking and gave us very good advise for the cultural activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Property: Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Address: 130 St John Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Turnberry Lodge & Tavern)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Turnberry Boutique Hotel is situated in the centre of the picturesque Klein Karoo town of Oudtshoorn, South Africa. A warm welcome awaits visitors to the heart of the Klein Karoo. Relax in the comfort of one of the 22 luxurious air-conditioned bedrooms (each with satellite television, a coffee station and a mini bar), all with en-suite bathrooms, and cosy double beds fitted with crisp white linen. Each room also has free wireless Internet connection. Relax on leather couches in our cool classy tavern at the very heart of the Lodge, and enjoy a casual pub lunch or a delicious dinner. Spend the afternoon cooling off in the sparkling swimming pool, and take cocktails on the patio overlooking the stark beauty of the Klein Karoo at sundown. Turnberry Boutique Hotel boasts a state-of-the-art air-conditioned conference facility that can seat up to eighty people - ideal for conferences, weddings, cocktail parties and other occasions. There is ample safe undercover parking and we are situated in the centre of Oudtshoorn. On your arrival, we will plan your visit to all the attractions Oudtshoorn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Turnberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing