We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great place to stay in Oudtshoorn. we had a family room so kids had their own room which was fab. Breakfast was great. A great stay - will definitely stay there next time we are in Oudtshoorn.........

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback - we are looking forward welcoming you back to Turnberry Boutique Hotel in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 306 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is a nice hotel, over all, but for 4 star, I expected more. It was clean, conveniently located and the reception people were nice.
The worst was that wifi didn't work at all. They kept saying they will reboot, but nothing ever worked.
There was no one to carry bags, there was no conditioner in my room. In this day and age, it was hard to find an extra plug in my room, so I had to unplug something else to charge my computer/phone/etc. I had to keep the tea kettle on the floor to even boil water. I guess I expected more for 4*.
Rooms are very small, but cozy. I was freezing while I was there, but maybe I'm just used to central heating. TV only had a few working channels, the others were fuzzy.
Breakfast was nice, made to order.
Convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that our hotel meets all the requirements of a 4 star hotel according to the South African Tourism Grading Council. We have different size rooms, from the smaller to large suites - depending on your budget and availability. Porter service is available on request - even the check-in registration form has a tick box to check if you need assistance with luggage. My personal cell phone number is also available in all our rooms should a guest experience any problems, Quite often, settings on handsets or laptops have to be adjusted to be able to receive wifi signal. We have 4 different rooters throughout the hotel to be able to cope with obstructions.. My apologies for my staff not being able to assist you in a proper way. Thank you again for your feedback as it helps me to better our service continuously. Thank you for visiting South Africa and Oudtshoorn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Turnberry Hotel is located in town. It is easy to walk everywhere, restaurants, shops,supermarket ect. The hotel is clean and the beds are great. The staff is very friendly.
It is a real Karoo experience!


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kerstin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Turnberry Boutique Hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Oudtshoorn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Would just like to thank you for a lovely stay at the Turnberry Hotel.
Staff ,Service and Rooms were spectacular.Rooms are nice and spacious lovely large King Size beds.Delicious breakfast in close to all restaurants in town.Reception open 24 Hours and a great little bar .
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakawayWesterncape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnberryodn, Owner at Turnberry Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for taking the time to review Turnberry Boutique Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Quite below standard for a 4 start hotel
There were no porters available for our luggage and had to climb the stairs with all the luggage to and from the room
No restaurant for lunch or dinner although this is advertised on the website
Sound insulation in the hotel is very poor as you here all the noises from other guest in and around the hotel
The bathrooms only had a shower (no bath) and the basin was in your room, not very comfatable

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I would say it is better to improve the wifi connection. I cannot use the wifi after a short connection ! The hotel is beautiful and all staffs are friendly and make me feel comfort and save or even feel like home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We recently spent one night at the Turnberry Boutique Hotel.The staff were very helpful and friendly, and our room was a good size, however I would not class it as a boutique hotel (compared to other places that I have stayed). The air conditioning unit in our room was very noisy so we chose not to use it. However, the bar had a nice atmosphere and it is located just off the main road so is close to the restaurants, which is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katy378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
15.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Address: 130 St John Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Turnberry Lodge & Tavern)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $85 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Turnberry Boutique Hotel is situated in the centre of the picturesque Klein Karoo town of Oudtshoorn, South Africa. A warm welcome awaits visitors to the heart of the Klein Karoo. Relax in the comfort of one of the 22 luxurious air-conditioned bedrooms (each with satellite television, a coffee station and a mini bar), all with en-suite bathrooms, and cosy double beds fitted with crisp white linen. Each room also has free wireless Internet connection. Relax on leather couches in our cool classy tavern at the very heart of the Lodge, and enjoy a casual pub lunch or a delicious dinner. Spend the afternoon cooling off in the sparkling swimming pool, and take cocktails on the patio overlooking the stark beauty of the Klein Karoo at sundown. Turnberry Boutique Hotel boasts a state-of-the-art air-conditioned conference facility that can seat up to eighty people - ideal for conferences, weddings, cocktail parties and other occasions. There is ample safe undercover parking and we are situated in the centre of Oudtshoorn. On your arrival, we will plan your visit to all the attractions Oudtshoorn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Turnberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing