We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MEMORABLE STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
JoziJETSETTER
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A MEMORABLE STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

THe staff were friendly and the two rooms we booked were well furnished with a refereshing shower. The breakfast was divine and the omelettes and cuppacino made bt Mariam was amazing. The hotel is well appointed and the best shopping for gifts was nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoziJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    99
    38
    4
    6
See reviews for
72
117
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Thank you to Niel and his staff for a fabulous weekend. Our function on the Friday night will be one of the highlights of my trip to South Africa. A nicely appointed hotel. Wonderful service and fabulous breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevanswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

In april 2011 we have made a cruise from Cape Town to Italy. Pre cruising we had 6 days a rental car for a roundtrip in the area.
On the 29th of April we overnight in the Turnberry Lodge & Tavern. Its centrally located in Oudtshoorn in a quiet surrounding.
The service of the staff was excellent, the room well furnished and clean. The breakfast was very tasty.
We can recommend this lodge to everyone who enjoys a small size hotel with personal attention in a great area.

Special thanks to the female cook who served an excellent ostrich terrine and ostrich steak. We gave her a big applause. (On board of the ship during our diners we’ve thought many times about this diner).

Hans en Ellen van der Zwan
The Netherlands

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at the Turnberry lodge for 3 nights over a weekend in November and had a great time. The accomodation was very comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Comfortable rooms, free wifi, nothing to complain about! Ah, one thing, the TV was very small but ha, it doesn't matter to me!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beebeebuubuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

very neat and clean, excellently located and very helpful staff,stayed here for a night and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashantLucknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were pleaseantly suprised to find that this "lodge" was a fully functioning hotel with all mod cons.
Good location for exploring nearby ostrich farms, cango caves and wildlife park- where you can stroke the tiger and cheetah cubs!
Good restaurants nearby in this quiet colonial town which is well worth a detour away from the busy garden route.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyHemsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
15.9 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turnberry Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turnberry Boutique Hotel

Property: Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Address: 130 St. John Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Turnberry Lodge & Tavern)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turnberry Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Turnberry Boutique Hotel is situated in the centre of the picturesque Klein Karoo town of Oudtshoorn, South Africa. A warm welcome awaits visitors to the heart of the Klein Karoo. Relax in the comfort of one of the 22 luxurious air-conditioned bedrooms (each with satellite television, a coffee station and a mini bar), all with en-suite bathrooms, and cosy double beds fitted with crisp white linen. Each room also has free wireless Internet connection. Relax on leather couches in our cool classy tavern at the very heart of the Lodge, and enjoy a casual pub lunch or a delicious dinner. Spend the afternoon cooling off in the sparkling swimming pool, and take cocktails on the patio overlooking the stark beauty of the Klein Karoo at sundown. Turnberry Boutique Hotel boasts a state-of-the-art air-conditioned conference facility that can seat up to eighty people - ideal for conferences, weddings, cocktail parties and other occasions. There is ample safe undercover parking and we are situated in the centre of Oudtshoorn. On your arrival, we will plan your visit to all the attractions Oudtshoorn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Turnberry Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing