We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food - nice service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jemima's Restaurant

Jemima's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Basel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

we had dinner, while we stayed in Oudtshoorn. Our host booked a table which was very good, as they seem to be rather busy. The service was very attentive, nice and fast. The food fresh, nice. We would definitely recommend this restaurant. it was one of the best places we ate during our stay in South Africa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bebbi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    276
    92
    45
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice venue and ambience... service could have been better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to Jemima's on recommendation by our guest house. The restaurant is very nice, we dined in the garden. The food was good, a bit expensive for SA but still an amazing value. We started with the myself which were huge, but costing $7 for 4 was a bit much. The lamb shank was huge and very good. The trio of meats were a good deal but we were not asked what temperature the meat should be cooked to, everything was overdone but the streak was impressively tender even though cooked well done. The sides were very good. For dessert we had the chocolate salami which was interesting. The service was friendly though slow. It took a few minutes for us to get spoons for our deserts which was more annoying as 2 girls were busy around us setting tables. Overall a good experience but may be better choices as the reviews here seem inconsistent and service turned out to be so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jadewin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“best food in oudtshoorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The food is very good with a good choice on the menu. It is possibly one of the more expensive restaurants but well worth the prices (which by uk standards was cheap)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Upmarket Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great food, a step up from most of the standard restaurants.
A little bit pricier, but worth it, with good service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
253 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Confusing quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

As the last time this restaurant is confusing. The food quality is good - except they can not cook steak. My t bone and my clients were tough as leather. Service friendly, but the kitchen is slow with the output of food. waited for 1 hour for our starter and 1h 45 minutes for our main course. Owners were sitting there, but took no interest whatsoever. Pity, because it has potential. Very moody with their quality and servicde. One day very good, one day as bad as it comes

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemima's Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Jemima's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing