We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The villa of Backpackers Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Certificate of Excellence
Mariahout, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The villa of Backpackers Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When we got there to ask for a room they were fully booked with double rooms. But the have a new house (a mansion!) in the neighbourhood. We got it for the same rate, they gave us the keys and directions and we were on our way to this location.
It was magnificient. Also there were no other people so we had this great place all to ourselves! We made a fire, cooked ourselves, had a (bubble)bath and didn't leave the house untill the next day.

Really a good stay, the pictures say enough....

Room Tip: ask for the 'other accommodation'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    49
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
50
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This backpackers is cheap, the rooms were ok, but the atmosphere was so-so. We found better accommodation while in SA. They have good discounts for the activities and parking facilities. So I would say that in overall it is a good accommodation;

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights here and would definitely recommend BP. Gavin, along with all the other staff, we're really helpful and there was certainly no shortage of atmosphere and character at this hostel. They offer different trips and activities that can be tailored to your needs and the ostrich BBQ was top drawer! Ostrich farm day trip is a MUST!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_ryan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place has gotta be the best spot to stay - the hostel is homely & clean with nice lounge area and even a bar where they fire up the outdoor fire & Braii every night if you want one. The owners are on site 90% of the time & make you feel part of the family - so if your travelling alone its the perfect spot.
They organise all tours in the area & have their own discounted tours that include bike rides too.
There is an Ostrich egg every morning cracked int he kitchen so you can make yourself some scrambled eggs or you can buy brekkie if your feeling lazy..!!
All in all an excellent stay & sad to leave - its just too cosy..!!

Room Tip: Ask the staff to see the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocholt, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time! Room was clean and nice. The kitchen provides everything you need. Breakfast was good. We met fun people at the bar. The staff was really friendly and helpful! Highly recommendable this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakiko12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just spent 3 months travelling the world and this was my favourite hostel. Go here!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We didn't have any intention to stay in a backpacker hotel, but we arrived to town late, there was a music festival for the week, and the only two beds we found were in .... the dorms of this hotel. We found ourselves with 8 other people from all around the world in a big room. But the experience was surprisingly very good! The place if very clean, quiet at night, a pleasant lobby and common rooms, internet access, the cheapest laundry you can imagine (30 Rands for 5 kg), very friendly staff, and, of course, not expensive.
A good surprise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#27 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#25 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides

Property: Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Address: 148 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing