We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent backpacker place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent backpacker place”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We didn't have any intention to stay in a backpacker hotel, but we arrived to town late, there was a music festival for the week, and the only two beds we found were in .... the dorms of this hotel. We found ourselves with 8 other people from all around the world in a big room. But the experience was surprisingly very good! The place if very clean, quiet at night, a pleasant lobby and common rooms, internet access, the cheapest laundry you can imagine (30 Rands for 5 kg), very friendly staff, and, of course, not expensive.
A good surprise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    50
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
50
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2012

What a nice place! Backpackers tend to be shabby places, this is the opposite!
All is in place, well organised, clean and neat. The kitchen even has a camera!! Haha, like they are checking you leave everything the way you found it (didn't make me feel uncomfortable, thought it was hilarious and a great idea!). There were signs reading: "our cleaning ladies have enough work to do, after you use the kitchen equipment, wash it, dry them and pack them away", and the people staying there, actually did follow to the instructions. The dish cloths provided were all brand new! (you usually don't find these in backpackers and if you do, they are always old and they stink, not here!).
The place is nice and big, and has many facilities, including a pool table and a small swimming pool. The place felt safe, with a code to enter the gate, fans provided in each room.
Staff is friendly and very helpful, they helped me unpack the trailer and carry my bags to my room! (most surprising!, specially when it comes from a young, good looking guy, bonus! hehe)
I wish more backpacker places were like this! You don't have to be all hippie, shabby and dirty to be a good "backpackers". Wish other backpackers owners would come to this place and take some tips!!!
Oh, and they are also eco friendly, with signs reminding the guests about water shortage and ways to save water, etc.

EXCELLENT PLACE!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Nice clean hostel. Great place with nice bar and Ostrich egg breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliebucket91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were in a private room, nice and clean.
Very nice people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amir006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Perfect organization of accommodation and bicycle rides (high quality equipment, support with a car), very friendly and helpful Staff, excellent diners (ostrich beef). Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadwiga_berbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was one of the best hostels on our travel. We booked standard doubles, but they gave us en-suites for the price of standard rooms :). The rooms are nice and clean, the food is also good. There's a kitchen there, so you can cook yourself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puteshestvenniki_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Loved our stay here!
Great backpackers with cosy fire, delicious ostrich braii and lovely staff.
Internet facilities are best we saw with Skype cameras and microphones.
Cook your own ostrich egg for breakfast for free in their good kitchens as thats really fun and a good story to tell!
We tried the 54km cycle (as complete bike idiots) and it was wonderful but exhausting! The views were stunning, play with the local children as you go past, check out all the great activities and go with a group of other guests as it adds to the fun!

Room Tip: Try not to be by the main road - quite noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#23 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides

Property: Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Address: 148 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing