We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Perfect organization of accommodation and bicycle rides (high quality equipment, support with a car), very friendly and helpful Staff, excellent diners (ostrich beef). Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadwiga_berbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was one of the best hostels on our travel. We booked standard doubles, but they gave us en-suites for the price of standard rooms :). The rooms are nice and clean, the food is also good. There's a kitchen there, so you can cook yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puteshestvenniki_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Loved our stay here!
Great backpackers with cosy fire, delicious ostrich braii and lovely staff.
Internet facilities are best we saw with Skype cameras and microphones.
Cook your own ostrich egg for breakfast for free in their good kitchens as thats really fun and a good story to tell!
We tried the 54km cycle (as complete bike idiots) and it was wonderful but exhausting! The views were stunning, play with the local children as you go past, check out all the great activities and go with a group of other guests as it adds to the fun!

Room Tip: Try not to be by the main road - quite noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Cosy place and lovely bunch of people, both the team and the guests.
Lots of opportunities for activities in the area, on backpacker's prices (as far as it goes for South Africa).

I'd recommend the 52km cycling downhill the nearby pass (the road that leads to Cango Caves).
And the Ostrich ride.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pax_mtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here in early August for a couple of nights during a 3 week tour of South Africa. Hand on heart we can say this is the best hostel we stayed in, all the staff were friendly and very helpful , including the owner who joined us both evenings by the camp fire for a beer. The rooms are spacious and clean, the food good, and the overall atmosphere great. They do several good trips to attractions in the surrounding area, the bike ride tour being one of the best. They drop you at the furthest away point with your hired bike and you make your own way back, mostly downhill, stopping at the various attractions along the way, we had a great time, and work out. Hope you enjoy this place as much as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markymark05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Backpacker's paradise is a good place from where to explore Oudtshoorn and they organize trips to the main attractions around such as the wildlife ranch, cango caves and Ostrich farms. We used our own rented car instead but got useful help from the reception anyway. In the evening we joined the BBQ in front of a nice fire and ate Ostrich cooked on the BBQ. It was fun and you get to hang around with the other people in the hostel. The rooms themselves need a bit of attention and can be significantly improved - but then the price is reasonable. Decent value overall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was a good backpackers with a nice fire in the evening. Spacious place. I had a double room and it was adequate, not luxurious but comfortable bed and it was all clean and there was a heater in the room, which was necessary in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
350 reviews
20.1 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#24 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
8.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides

Address: 148 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Paradise & Joyrides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing