We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pictures Guest House
Ranked #2 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SouthShields
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed at Pictures for three nights and everything was wonderful. We later stayed at a very prestigious five star hotel which didn't match Pictures. Wim and Margot are perfect hosts who went out of there way to help us enjoy our stay even to tell us which way to drive up a pass to get the best view. Four of us stayed there and all agreed on return it was the nicest and friendliest place we had stayed on our trip. You will not be dissapointed if you book to stay with these lovely people. Even the dog is friendly!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
234
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
296 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Pictures is situated on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn. It is beauftifull place with very nice spacious luxury rooms (only 3 rooms). Owners are very friendly. We relaxed at the nice pool and received some nice home made snacks with our chilled chardonnay.
They arranged a restaurant booking (Kalinka) and our taxi to and from the restaurant. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast.
I would come back to Pictures anytime when I am in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Unfortunately, we only had 2 nights but we would have loved to spend more time in Pictures. It's a small guesthouse (3 rooms). We stayed in Pictures 3, which is tastefully decorated and very spacious with lots of storage room, it has a separate bath and a walk-in shower. The owners are very friendly and helpful with planning of daytrips and they offer a 'yummie' breakfast with fresh fruit and delicious homemade bread! The guesthouse is situated nearby the R62 and just outside the towncentre of Oudtshoorn in a quiet residential area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bersim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 on our way down to the Garden Route.

Absolutely top quality guest house. The whole house is decorated to an extremely high standard and is immaculately presented. Fantastic room with a fabulous bathroom. Completely spotless – felt like we were the first guests to stay in it. Very friendly welcome and helpful with suggesting local attractions and recommending restaurants. Definitely recommend visiting at a warmer time of year to make best use of the pool etc.

Lots of pictures with this review, so please take a look!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Thankfully we didnt miss this one. Arrive through electric gates to a wonderfully decorated and furnished home of Margot and Wim. Hosts who quickly made us feel welcome but didnt overbear. A wonderfully appointed room with a tranquil feel with our own lounge area with new release DVDs available. We ate at Jemimas and experienced the ostrich steak which was excellent returned to watch a DVD with a good bottle of wine from the room mini bar. In the morning we awoke to fair weather and ate a well prepared breakfast (wonderful coffee) outside overlooking the pool where Wim gave us some background to the area and the property. It was a shame to leave after only one night, would definitely have liked to stay on,not to mention the welcome from the family border colly... thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed at pictures in oudtshoorn and it was like visiting a fine boutique hotel. The service was excellent, Wim and Margo (the owners) really treated us with the best service. The rooms are modern and even a movie and dvd collection was provided . The house and interior is a modern african decorated villa with stunning black and white photography to decorate the house (the owner is a collector). We had a great stay and will certainly advise travelers to visit Wim and Margo at Pictures. The house is a perfect place to enjoy and see the beautiful country of South-Africa! We will be back.. Mark and Glenn
P.S. Great breakfast everything prepared so fresh! wow...!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed at this great Guesthouse in January 2009 for 2 nights and wish we could have extended our stay.
Based on past bad experiences in Oudtshoorn with other hotels and Guesthouses, we looked for something stylish, contemporary, new and found Pictures.

The Guesthouse is owned by Margot and Wim, a lovely couple from the Netherlands who decided to leave Holland two years ago, knowing South Africa for many years through their vacation home in Knysna.

Margot and Wim renovated the 8 year old house completely when they bought it in 2006.
The guesthouse has a beautiful garden with a large swimming pool and lounge chairs for the guests. On sunny days breakfast is served on the terrace with homemade bread, fresh juices, fruit salad, muesli, cold cuts and eggs to your liking.
3 stylish and contemporary rooms each with own balcony, air-conditioning, comfortable beds and separate living area welcome the guests after a day full of sightseeing.

Already while making the booking at the guesthouse Margot suggested making restaurant reservations and organized excellent tables at the best restaurants in Oudtshoorn. Both our hosts went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we will definitely be back when we are the region again.

  • Liked — Very friendly host, great rooms and beautiful house
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reisetante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictures Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictures Guest House

Property: Pictures Guest House
Address: 29 Elley St, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pictures Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures Luxury Accommodation, situated in Oudtshoorn, the heart of the Klein Karoo. Pictures is situated in a residential area of Oudtshoorn close to the town center and close to major tourist attractions. With its warm and comfortable environment created, you will feel right at home. Our guesthouse offers three luxury rooms each with air conditioning en-suite bathroom and private balcony, decorated with a pictures theme. All rooms have TV, DVD, Safe, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, bathrobes and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pictures Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing