We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely first class guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pictures Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 on our way down to the Garden Route.

Absolutely top quality guest house. The whole house is decorated to an extremely high standard and is immaculately presented. Fantastic room with a fabulous bathroom. Completely spotless – felt like we were the first guests to stay in it. Very friendly welcome and helpful with suggesting local attractions and recommending restaurants. Definitely recommend visiting at a warmer time of year to make best use of the pool etc.

Lots of pictures with this review, so please take a look!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

Thankfully we didnt miss this one. Arrive through electric gates to a wonderfully decorated and furnished home of Margot and Wim. Hosts who quickly made us feel welcome but didnt overbear. A wonderfully appointed room with a tranquil feel with our own lounge area with new release DVDs available. We ate at Jemimas and experienced the ostrich steak which was excellent returned to watch a DVD with a good bottle of wine from the room mini bar. In the morning we awoke to fair weather and ate a well prepared breakfast (wonderful coffee) outside overlooking the pool where Wim gave us some background to the area and the property. It was a shame to leave after only one night, would definitely have liked to stay on,not to mention the welcome from the family border colly... thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed at pictures in oudtshoorn and it was like visiting a fine boutique hotel. The service was excellent, Wim and Margo (the owners) really treated us with the best service. The rooms are modern and even a movie and dvd collection was provided . The house and interior is a modern african decorated villa with stunning black and white photography to decorate the house (the owner is a collector). We had a great stay and will certainly advise travelers to visit Wim and Margo at Pictures. The house is a perfect place to enjoy and see the beautiful country of South-Africa! We will be back.. Mark and Glenn
P.S. Great breakfast everything prepared so fresh! wow...!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We stayed at this great Guesthouse in January 2009 for 2 nights and wish we could have extended our stay.
Based on past bad experiences in Oudtshoorn with other hotels and Guesthouses, we looked for something stylish, contemporary, new and found Pictures.

The Guesthouse is owned by Margot and Wim, a lovely couple from the Netherlands who decided to leave Holland two years ago, knowing South Africa for many years through their vacation home in Knysna.

Margot and Wim renovated the 8 year old house completely when they bought it in 2006.
The guesthouse has a beautiful garden with a large swimming pool and lounge chairs for the guests. On sunny days breakfast is served on the terrace with homemade bread, fresh juices, fruit salad, muesli, cold cuts and eggs to your liking.
3 stylish and contemporary rooms each with own balcony, air-conditioning, comfortable beds and separate living area welcome the guests after a day full of sightseeing.

Already while making the booking at the guesthouse Margot suggested making restaurant reservations and organized excellent tables at the best restaurants in Oudtshoorn. Both our hosts went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we will definitely be back when we are the region again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reisetante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

This place is the perfect place to stay in Oudtshoorn. Very luxery rooms with everything you can wish, the owners Margot and Wim a Dutch couple are an example for perfect hospitality. Shame that we spent only 1 night with them, but we will return.
Jos Ploum

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank opabolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

My wife and I were delighted to find this contempary gem on the internet. Actually staying there was even better. The hosts Wim and Margot are Dutch but with a long SA background. They are happy and warming people who looked after us and other guests with amazing attention to detail. The Guesthouse has only 3 rooms, but they are stunning, as is the decor and layout of the reception and dining areas. The pool is mid sized with nice patio furniture and secluded gardens around it. Wim was always there on our return from a day out to help us relax with drinks and canopes. He was also excellent with sightseeing advice and booked restaurants for us, and even provided us with the weather forcast for our next destination.

The property is in a quiet area and is very easy to find. We absolutely loved it and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RonJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PicturesOudtshoorn, Propriétaire at Pictures Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
509 reviews
15.4 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictures Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictures Guest House

Address: 29 Elley St, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $143 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pictures Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures Luxury Accommodation, situated in Oudtshoorn, the heart of the Klein Karoo. Pictures is situated in a residential area of Oudtshoorn close to the town center and close to major tourist attractions. With its warm and comfortable environment created, you will feel right at home. Our guesthouse offers three luxury rooms each with air conditioning en-suite bathroom and private balcony, decorated with a pictures theme. All rooms have TV, DVD, Safe, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, bathrobes and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pictures Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing