We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than ever could be expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pictures Guest House
Ranked #5 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place looked great in the pictures and it was even better in real life. We stayed for one night on our way back to Capetown after a tour of the Garden Route, but we would have been happy to spend a week here. Everything you could possibly want is in the rooms, the garden and pool are pristine, the breakfast to die for and the owners make your stay a pleasure, pity we live so far away in snowy uk.

Room Tip: if want a place to stay anywhere in this area, this is the place. I know my stuff and this place is...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limosteers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Pictures Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 304 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was beautiful and the hosts where amazing, they assisted us with everything that we needed and were warm and welcoming. The place is absolutely charming, if you're going for something romantic then it is definitely the right choice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naama D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you've read the 'Homes' magazines and wonder what living in one of those spacious, designer homes would be like, reserve a few days at Pictures. Furnished in immaculate taste, the house has three rooms. We were in number two which has a separate dressing room and a large balcony with a view of the lovely garden, pool and the majestic Swartberg Mountains in the distance. Everything was absolutely immaculate. Wim and Margot are great hosts, friendly and efficient. Breakfast had the most extensive choice of cooked options we've seen, in addition to the buffet table. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stylish - especially if you're a fan of Sinatra. the Rat pack. the Godfather movies. Warm hosts ,terrific breakfast (the cheese omelette is to die for) and luxuriousroom. An interesting town and worth going to for a coupleof days even if ionly to stay at Pictures

Room Tip: From what we could see all rooms were perfect
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Wim and Margot, What a beautiful Guest House, done to an impecible standard, stunning lounges, the bedroom was delightful, with complimentary port if required, biscuits and plenty of reading material. Breakfast was taken on the patio which was gorgeous overlooking the pool area which was beautiful, but unfortunately we did not have the time to give it a try. We stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Every room is gorgeous
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on the strength of the comments on TA and were not disappointed. On the edge of town in a peaceful residential area. Very stylish property. Our room was spacious, stylish and impeccably clean. The DVD player and library were a nice touch. Homemade biscuits were provided which were replenished on evening turndown.

Very nice pool in well tended gardens with enough loungers for all rooms. It was great to be able to relax by the pool with a glass of wine after a day's sightseeing. I was not expecting to get drinks service by the pool. This is an indication of the effort/service at Pictures.

Breakfast was of a very high quality with a nice variety of cooked options.

If I was returning to oudtshorrn I would not want to stay anywhere else. Wim and Margot were
superb hosts.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Guest House is absolutely wonderful. Wim and Margot are not only charming, but very attentive. There are only 3 rooms (which is good) and our room was really big (huge dressing) with all modern comforts. Everything was perfect (bed, bathroom, equipment). The breakfast was the best we had eaten in a very long time (try their 'specials'). Thank you for this - too short - stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictures Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictures Guest House

Address: 29 Elley St, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $145 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pictures Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures Luxury Accommodation, situated in Oudtshoorn, the heart of the Klein Karoo. Pictures is situated in a residential area of Oudtshoorn close to the town center and close to major tourist attractions. With its warm and comfortable environment created, you will feel right at home. Our guesthouse offers three luxury rooms each with air conditioning en-suite bathroom and private balcony, decorated with a pictures theme. All rooms have TV, DVD, Safe, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, bathrobes and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pictures Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing