We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would not hesitate to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pictures Guest House
Ranked #2 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would not hesitate to recommend”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Wim and Margot, What a beautiful Guest House, done to an impecible standard, stunning lounges, the bedroom was delightful, with complimentary port if required, biscuits and plenty of reading material. Breakfast was taken on the patio which was gorgeous overlooking the pool area which was beautiful, but unfortunately we did not have the time to give it a try. We stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Every room is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
234
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on the strength of the comments on TA and were not disappointed. On the edge of town in a peaceful residential area. Very stylish property. Our room was spacious, stylish and impeccably clean. The DVD player and library were a nice touch. Homemade biscuits were provided which were replenished on evening turndown.

Very nice pool in well tended gardens with enough loungers for all rooms. It was great to be able to relax by the pool with a glass of wine after a day's sightseeing. I was not expecting to get drinks service by the pool. This is an indication of the effort/service at Pictures.

Breakfast was of a very high quality with a nice variety of cooked options.

If I was returning to oudtshorrn I would not want to stay anywhere else. Wim and Margot were
superb hosts.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fazza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This Guest House is absolutely wonderful. Wim and Margot are not only charming, but very attentive. There are only 3 rooms (which is good) and our room was really big (huge dressing) with all modern comforts. Everything was perfect (bed, bathroom, equipment). The breakfast was the best we had eaten in a very long time (try their 'specials'). Thank you for this - too short - stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurentJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijchen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We only spend one night in Pictures guesthouse, but we would have liked to stay longer.
The rooms are very spacious, stylish and clean. Nostalgic B&W pictures all over the place, that give the guesthouse its special atmosphere. Breakfast perfect. Wim drove us to the resataurant himself since no taxi was available.
If we travel to Oudtshoorn we will certainly choose this guesthouse again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very comfortable and modern spacious rooms with all the comforts you need. Nice collection of black and white pictures on the walls. Separate comfortable common room for guests. A good place to relax - either on the veranda/balcony or in the garden at the swimming pool. Friendly and helpful owners who gave good advice on what to visit and where to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Lowlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Did not expect to find a place like this in Outdshoorn. Wim and Margo are excellent hosts and made dinner resrvations for us. The place we went to on the first night was so good we returned on the second night. Very modern and clean with a first class breakfast. Must be the best place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although on the edge of town Pictures, run by Wim and Marco, is luxury accommodation. The care and hospitality we were shown was second to none; the conversation stimulating and educational for first time visitors; the breakfasts a master class of culinary skill and presentation. The bedrooms are spacious, the guest lounges generous and relaxing, and the walled grounds immaculate. Highly recommended for the mature and independent couple.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 - the largest suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_p_everett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pictures Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pictures Guest House

Property: Pictures Guest House
Address: 29 Elley St, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pictures Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures Luxury Accommodation, situated in Oudtshoorn, the heart of the Klein Karoo. Pictures is situated in a residential area of Oudtshoorn close to the town center and close to major tourist attractions. With its warm and comfortable environment created, you will feel right at home. Our guesthouse offers three luxury rooms each with air conditioning en-suite bathroom and private balcony, decorated with a pictures theme. All rooms have TV, DVD, Safe, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, bathrobes and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pictures Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing