We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Karoo Soul has some realy beautifull rooms! Their is a lot of space and a small pool with a "braai" area outside! You can play some music with the stereo installation at the braai area and hang out in the hammocks!

Room Tip: If you're the first to check in that day you can choose between all the rooms, so if you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Loved this place. We extended our initial stay because we loved it so much. I have stayed in Oudtshoorn twice now at two different places and this is by far the best. It's not your normal backpackers so if you want to scream and have loud parties, this probably isn't the place. If you want to come and recover from a normal backpackers......then come here :-)

The staff here are really friendly and helpful and will assist you in making any plans. The garden area is beautiful and they have a very inviting pool to cool you down after the usual Oudtshoorn weather. Bedrooms Are large and spacious with huge beds! Bathroom facilities are very clean and they have a great fully equipped self catering kitchen.

Ask them about the waterfall where you can go and swim. I can't remember the name but if you have a car then you MUST go here if you enjoy swimming and the great outdoors. For me this has been one of my favourite experiences here in South Africa.

Thanks for a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stopped in Oudtshoorn for one night on a Route 62 road trip. We prebooked a private room and were very happy with our choice. The room was very spacious and clean. The pool and braai area is great and the staff were very helpful, I would definitely recommend Karoo Soul

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeelsCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A soulful old family house now welcomes backpackers, slackpackers, couples and entire families. Peaceful garden, wrap-around verandah, relaxing lapa, inspiring sunsets. Welcoming staff, dogs and cats. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: One of the two front rooms with a view over the lavender-coloured Karoo mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Great-Escapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We chose Karoo Soul for our stay in Outshorne because of the great Tripadvisor reviews - and it really lived up to our expectations. Karoo Soul is as stylish as backpackers ever get. White-washed walls with fantastic wooden furniture in the main house, clean and functional bathrooms, beautiful kitchen - the decor really impressed us by it's simplicity and elegance. The manager was exceptionally helpful - he advised us on a few options for dinner, and we had a great experience watching hippos while dining at the dam of Buffelsdrift (20 mins drive).

Pros: a stunning place, attentive staff, a little pool and lots of outside benches to enjoy the views.
Cons: a little bit outside of the main roads, shops, bars. Wi-Fi connection kept on dropping every 3 mins or so - we really struggled with that.

But a really really nice place to have as a base for exploring Ostrich farms and the Cango Caves.

Room Tip: All had a lot of charm... you can't go wrong from what we observed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A really nice place. Great pool and a beautiful old house with a lot of character. It has great views of the mountains and you can sit and watch the sun set.....just beautiful. There is also a really nice braai area. We paid R400 for a double room with bathroom, great value!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent value for money, friendly and very helpful staff, comfortable rooms, spacious and clean. What more can you ask for. We really enjoyed our stay here and enjoyed the self catering facility. Oudtshoorn is an interesting place, arty and vibey. We really enjoyed the experience!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.5 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#24 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages

Address: 170 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $26 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huddled in the heart of the Klein Karoo is this magical Tudor-style manor house. Delicately finding the equilibrium between nature, life and sustainability while remaining one of the most sophisticated travel lodges in the area. Situated on one of the uppermost hills in Oudtshoorn, the manor and surrounding grounds is adorned with art, offering breath-taking views and sunsets combined with a tantalising swimming pool and entertainment patio. Affordable yet stylish and comfortable; surrounded with a sense of well-balanced vitality. Our little piece of paradise. Unique self-catering cottages, spaciously luxurious rooms, an uncrowded dormitory and camping depending on your needs. We also house a well equipped kitchen with optional breakfast. All your questions with regards to local attractions will be answered knowledgeably, offering some vouchers and specials to sites and establishments in and around Oudtshoorn. We strive to make your stay comfortable, exciting and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing