We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and recommend”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the cottage which was very charming. The room was spacious and very clean. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. It is in a quiet area with secure parking and we had a very good sleep. There is a lovely pool which we didn't use as it was quite cool when we were there. Breakfast is not included in the price but there is a kitchen in the main house that you can use.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
55
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithers, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Spent one night in November 2010 on our way from Stellenbosch to the garden route (decided to break the drive up), and we are EXTREMELY glad we did!

Beautiful, clean house with a spectacular view from a hillside just at the edge of town (take one of the two rooms at the back of the house and enjoy the view from bed!). The room itself was awesome, big and spacious, super-comfortable bed, with the aforementioned great view. There are several clean bathrooms to choose from for showers and the like, as well as a small but well-stocked (appliance wise) kitchen. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, offered great advice about what to do and where to eat (as well as discounts on local attractions) , and how could you not love the resident tennis ball-hoarding dog? Note that this is NOT a typical "youth hostel"-- do not stay here if you're looking for a crazy party house, but definitely DO stay here if you value great service, great views, and a great nights sleep. It's also located close enough to the main drag to head out for a great dinner, while being far enough away that you can enjoy the tranquillity of a beautiful Outdshoorn sunset without ambient traffic/people noise. All in all a great find.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhogan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stylish and clean rooms, very helpful staff, excellent value for the money. We had a great time in Karoo Soul Backpackers!
******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antilopensafari-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed for three nights in the stone cottage and were unfortunately disappointed. Bedding poor quality and electrical wiring in kitchenette hazardous. Owner very helpful and knowledgeable about Oudtshoorn

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Best hostel we stayed in so far.
Very friendly, helpful staff. Owner KNOWS what travelers like.
Beautful house set up high so overlooks the town - stunning views, especially at sunset.
Nice pool and BBQ areas. Clean, well-stocked kitchen.
Double with ensuite cottage really nice but so are the doubles in the house (shared bathroom).
Unique art pieces all around. Birds are attracted to the yard.
Hammocks to lounge in.
We give it 10plus out of 10. Absolutely no complaints - sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Great hostel if you can even call it that it was so nice. We were 3 and we stayed in the main house (3 single beds). There's coffee in the morning but you have to bring your own food, which you can prepare in the kitchen. Nice pool, internet is slow, laundry available for 50 Rand.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Travelled with two friends and had a great room for three in the main house. Nice layout to the property.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumney36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#22 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amber Lagoon
Amber Lagoon
#30 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#27 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
56 reviews
11.4 mi away
Chandelier Game Lodge & Ostrich Show Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages

Property: Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
Address: 170 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing