We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Kalinka - CLOSED

Kalinka
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great looking restaurant - been touched by the designer brush.

Great looking food - been touched by the designer brush.

Good news is food not only looks good it tastes great.

Friendly, well trained staff. Great evening out. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Wand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    33
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herault, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spot on”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We booked for Kalinka after reading the TA reviews.

We had the best meal that we had eaten in 4 weeks in SA and we rate it as heading for a Michelin star at a fraction of the usual cost. The vegetable carpaccio was a perfect starter, as was my husband's cheese starter. We both ate ostrich, one kebabs and the other the fillet. Both were cooked to perfection.

The ambience is good and tables are well positioned with plenty of space between.

We were so pleased with the meal that we went to the kitchen to congratulate the ladies there.

For Europeans, the price is very good for the quality, although I appreciate that this is not the case for locals

Well done Kalinka

Helpful?
Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We read about Kalinka on trip advisor whilst planning a trip to Oudtshoorn in February/March. Trip advisor really got it right this time. The ambience, decor and food were in perfect symmetry. This was the best meal/dining experience we had on our entire garden route trip.
The only tiny flaw was that as the evening progressed and the restuarant got busier( fully booked) the service lagged a little,but was still pleasant enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, lovely location”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited Kalinka in February this year and had a fabulous meal. Atmosphere is the front garden is lovely. The service was really excellent with lots of staff. The ostrich was really amazing and perfectly cooked. This was the best meal we had during out 2 week South Africa trip - excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline_mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“this restaurant was very good.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We sat outside and had lovely food and good service. This is a Russian restaurant. A first for me. It was clean and appealing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyAvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalinka also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing