We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must”
Review of Kalinka - CLOSED

Kalinka
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A definite must”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We would highly recommend Kalinka for dinner. A lovely oriental twist to South African food. Very welcoming, excellent service and very well priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    33
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Justifiably the best in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We hadn't booked the restaurant but went in on spec. The welcome was friendly and the food was exceptional at a very reasonable price. Certainly one of our best meals in SA. The wine list was very good and the host was knowledgeable without being pompous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Recommended by the landlord of our B&B. Wonderful food and to someone from the UK an unbelievable price. I kept looking at the bill to see what had been left off. So good we returned the next night. The apple pancake is not to be missed. As noted in other reviews take warm clothing on a cool night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“So Good We Went Here Twice”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Russian by name but international by menu this is a classy restaurant but without the arrogance, hard to book and costly characteristics of a big city restaurant. A small but varied menu supported by an extensive indigenous wine list this is a must visit in this interesting town which many tourists pass through en route to the east or the west. Superb service where pride in the establishment is not compromised by any failure to delight the customer. Excellent value against competitors with the local wines offering unbelievable value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin_p_everett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine food”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food was the best I ate in Oudtshoorn and the special was reasonable value. Normal menu was over priced - even for someone who lives in Cape Town. Definitely need to improved heating arrangements

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalinka also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing