We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”
Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #10 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Des is such a welcoming host. The room (1) was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is basic but clean. The garden is very pleasant with plenty of seating areas. The location is central and walking distance to restaurants. This is a lovely guest house but much more basic than the others we have stayed in in SA- but this is reflected in the price so it is excellent value for a stop over to explore oudtshoorn.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Clementine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Clementine, We apologize that the garden room was already reserved. As you were on honeymoon, we gave you our lovely double in the house. Yes these older houses are sometimes basic and rightfully so to keep the character of 150 year old house in tact. The guests really love staying in this Karoo homestead as against a purpose built BnB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 464 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We didn't book, arriving as a 'chance' after driving from PE. What a fantastic find, friendly, superb location, a real gem of the Karoo! Facilities were excellent, hosts so friendly, and the breakfast - wow! That home made bread and the omelette were fantastic. Thanks for a super stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for finding us by chance. Sometimes they are the best ones. Great to hear the family all enjoyed it so. Well next time you know where we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Another place that surprised us. The website doesn't do justice to the beauty of the gardens and the idyllic setting of this B&B. We stayed in room 9. The bed was a little small but the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and we felt totally secure. We even had our own porch and garden. The breakfast was served overlooking the perfect garden and river and we were given a freshly baked loaf of bread all to ourselves. Des and Liz were delightful hosts.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your recent lovely review. We are always very chuffed to hear that our breakfasts and the garden is so appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon and we'll try and get you into the king>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The setting of Yotclub and its tiered garden overlooking the river is as close as I have come to paradise in all my travels! The photos don't do it justice, and it really is a glorious setting. The pool is small but beautifully situated. We arrived early in the afternoon and had the garden and pool to ourselves. There are several restaurants, bars and cafes within easy walking distance - we had a nice dinnner at Nostalgie which is 200m from the house. The rooms were very comfortable and private, and the service was exceptional. Breakfast on the veranda was a perfect end to what was unfortunately too brief a stay. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan-J-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful Review. Yes you are right Its as close to paradise as one will get. Its all here. middle town yet in the country and as you point out restaurants are very close by. Maybe you will find time to come back for a longer stay. We'd love to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the lovely Youclub B&B. Des welcomed us on arrival and gave some great recommendations on places to eat. We had the cottage room, which was next to the house and had its own separate entrance. It was comfortable and very cozy.

We had breakfast after our Meerkat adventure, and I'm still full from it! Breakfast included a massive omelet to share, bacon, some greens, and a small, homemade loaf of bread. Yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc. were also available. We had enough food to feed 5 or 6 people. The value for everything we received was outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_in_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Its a far cry from Canada but once here you must take in all you can. So pleased you enjoyed the meerkats and we knew the early start would make you hungry. Thanks for staying over if you come this way again, we'd love to fill you up again.
All the very best for 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed one night here in November 2013 and I just wish we had time to stay longer. For me this is the best B&B I have ever stayed at. The location is deceptive as you drive down a lane in the middle of town next to a Petrol Station. Don't be deceived though as once you step inside this lovely old house, full of warmth and character you feel transported back in time. Then when you step out into the beautifully presented garden and look out across the river, reed beds to the distant mountains you certainly don't feel that you are in a town at all. As for the breakfast, well, never before have we been presented with our own freshly baked loaf! For me this is 5 stars. Thank you Des and Liz :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Wow. Kind words, thank you. We've also had that feeling every time we pass the fuel station and head home. Leave the town behind and hit the country. It does amazing things for the soul. Glad everything was just perfect for your stay. You will have to return for a longer time. Compliments of the season and have a wonderful 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent only one night here and really regret doing so... How I wish I could spend more time here. What a great place to stay. Everything here is so perfect and serene - Cozy rooms, amazing decor, beautiful garden just by the riverside. It is indeed a heaven for bird lovers. The bird hide is just fantastic. And what a fantastic breakfast with fresh home-baked bread, spanish omlette and baked beans, fruits, cereals & coffee. And the best part about this place is that there is nothing fancy about this place. Its indeed a home away from home. Thank you Mr. Des, you were an amazing host. We really enjoyed our stay. And we regret checking-in so late. Hope we come there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chhandasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Well, thank you for such wonderful words. It was a pity you only stayed one night. Well it just means you have to jump on a flight back to SA and this part of W Cape.
Keep well and hope to see youback some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
1.3 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $50 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing