We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #11 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our visit to the Yotclub co-incided with problem with my back which necessitated my staying in our room for almost the total duration of our 2-night stay. Our hosts Des and Liz could not have been more helpful during this most difficult time and we were most grateful for their concern.
This was our second visit, the first being approximately 8 years ago. It was pleasing to find that the standard of accommodation and general facilities provided now, were of the same excellent standard as for our first visit. We will unreservedly recommend the Yotclub to all of our friends who may have occasion to travel to Oudtshoorn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
The heading, "we will be back" means hopefully with a "good one" so that you may enjoy all on offer here. Shame, its aweful that you experienced that on holiday especially after being here 8 years ago. Liz and I felt so sorry for you. Well lets get you on the road and come vist soon. Keep smiling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    62
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
273
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had made a short visit to Oudtshoorn with my daughter three years previously, had presented Des and Liz with my book of memories, but had not slept over at the Yotclub. This time I came with my husband, our son and twelve-year-old granddaughter and we stayed over for three nights. Sleeping in what was my very own bedroom as a child was an amazing experience. The house is so well-loved and -preserved and the landscaped grassy back garden, sloping down to the river - simply beautiful! The young people were most impressed. We enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere of my old home and started the days with an excellent breakfast served on the patio, overlooking the relaxing view, with warm, freshly-baked bread and good coffee. The days were filled with touring the area, showing the young people the Cango Caves, an Ostrich Show Farm, a wildlife reserve, the C.P Nel Museum, housed in what was the Boys' High School in my time - lots of old and many new experiences. Our granddaughter loved bathing in the swimming pool and watching the many different birds that came to visit! Our hosts were most welcoming and Sharon and Cynthia helped to give one the feeling of comfort and ease. It couldn't have been better. You certainly deserve to be included in the list of the top 25 B&Bs in the whole of South Africa - congratulations!

Room Tip: Dear Liz, I forgot to mention to you that the term AHAVA (the Israeli brand of cosmetics I brought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Well Gila, what can I say? Its not often one can have the pleasure of a guest who stayed in a guest house that was once their family home. Its even more remarkable that the last time you slept in this lovely old house was around 60 years ago. And in your old bedroom to boot. Thank you so much for all the history you have shared with us on your early childhood, the pics, the stories and most of all thank you for the book which I regard as so special. Thank you to all your family who have been here not only for a short vist and cup of coffee but also for those that have stayed over. Wow Liz and I appreciate it so much. Keep well and we hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Oudtshoorn then look no further than the Yotclub,Des and Liz are excellent hosts,nothing is too much trouble for them or their staff.The house is superb,rooms spotless and the gardens beautifully maintained,it was lovely to sit on the terrace and watch the birdlife.Enormous breakfasts, fruit,yogurt,freshly baked bread and omelettes,a grat start to the day.The house is situated in the centre of the town and is within easy walking distance to all shops and some very good restaurants.This was our second visit and it will not be our last.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
2nd visit. WOW we are so chuffed when we have previous visitors come back. It means so much and of course the next and the next will be even more special. Keep well until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etiolles, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

9th trip to South Afrcia and fifth stay at the YOTCLUB. Warm freindly welcome,so when we are in the area why look any futher. Over the years we have always benefited
from their warm hospitality. OUDTSHOORN is yet another small historic town, life is easy
particularly at the YOT CLUB so just put your feet up and relax by the pool and watch the sun go down before heading out to one of the numerous restaurants.
For the golfing nuts, you can always try the local course, quite rustic but a genuine 18 holes
with fairways albeit a little dry and decent greens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGEDORLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
George and Brigitte, You are such an ambassador for Oudtshoorn Golf club. Not to mention the Yotclub. Always great to hear you enjoy this lovely town and its such a pleasure having you here.
Till next time keep stocking up on the golf balls. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even after staying in many excellent bed and breakfasts and lodges in South Africa Yotclub stands out. Every detail is catered for. Its a beautiful old Victorian house in the centre of town, yet when you go through to the gardens all you see are birds, the otters and lush grass. It really is idyllic.

The room we had was huge, with a king size bed and high quality cotton linens. Breakfast was delicious - served on the patio overlooking the gardens and with fresh fruit, a warm loaf straight from the oven, and a huge bacon and cheese omelette cooked by Des.

I wish we had booked more than a day. If you stay here you'll feel like any 5 star hotel is a let down in comparison. This is what bed and breakfast is all about.

Room Tip: Room 5 has its own private patio overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TootingMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Wow, thanks so much for all those kind words. It definitely describes our lovely little Oasis. We really are chuffed when others come and share it with us. Next visit, stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and I can truly recommend this B&B. Great breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade bread; very friendly host who waited for our very late arrival; great location, you can walk to several restaurants and shops; wonderful pool and terrace with beautiful view. It was just perfect. Unfortunately we could only stay two nights... But next time, we will stay longer, that is for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mungestink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. You are most welcome to spend more than 2 days here and really chill out in the garden, find the hidden little gems that the Little Karoo holds.
Till then keep well and plan that next trip.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent B&B in Oudtshoorn that I warmly recommend.

The hospitality and the service are excellent. Very helpful and caring owners (they booked the restaurant for us, they adviced us for the next stop in Hermanus, and so much more).
The rooms are very clean and spacious.
The prices are reasonable for the quality you get.
Last but not least we had our best breakfast there !

The place is very quiet, and offers a splendid view on the mountains surrounding Oudtshoorn, and on their own garden with the river that includes an observation point for birds.
The very relaxing terrace and swimming pool complete the comfort offered by the Yotclub.

If you want to stop in Oudtshoorn, go to the Yotclub. You can’t be deceived !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for all the wonderful words. To sum it up, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your liking.
Well, if you are wanting another best breakfast in South Africa, you know where we are. We'd love to see you back here.
All the best
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Property: Yotclub B&B
Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing