We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #7 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I always look forward to touring the Garden Route when we visit South Africa.
We hired a car in Port Elizabeth and drove this most picturesque journey at a leisurely pace. We recommend that tourists with a similar journey in mind, head to Oudtshoorn after visiting the pretty town of George. We have done this before and spend a relaxing evening or two at the Yotclub B&B. For a relaxing stop-over, this place is hard to beat. The river view is great and the breakfasts are spectacular. Such friendly service too.
We will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Tony and Mal. Its always so special having old friends back here once more, making that special trip to the Yotclub. It must be your 4th if not 5th time here. Thank you.
The review is appreciated but I think you slipped up with giving it a 4. its like a colour in book, one must fill in all the spaces, dot the i's and cross the t's.
Ha Ha.
Have a super time in Sa and with the new Grandchild. Hope to see you soon.
Des and Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    63
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
271
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived at the Yotclub at the end of our second week of traveling and were thrilled to discover this oasis in the middle of Oudtshoorn. Des, Liz and the team made us very welcome from the start, provided us with activity and local information and even took the time to pass on their knowledge of other areas which were of interest to us.
Breakfast was served outside in their beautiful garden and was superb especially with the fresh fruits and home made bread.
Otherwise we think everything has pretty much been said in the previous reviews so just take the plunge, book a room and enjoy your stay as much as we did.
Thanks to Des, Liz and the team and we'll look out for you in Namibia.

Room Tip: Garden room 5 is well worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davecorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dave and Corina, thank you for the kind words and it was so nice to hear about your lodge in Switzerland and your pending trip to Namibia. Its a special place and you will really enjoy the area you have chosen to travel through. Your review is really appreciated. Have a great season and you never know, we might see you sooner than later.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

have to agree with all the other reviews, great place to relax,was like a home from home, we had room 5 which is delight to look out to the river each morning,not being a bird watcher the hide is a great idea, was amazing to see all the different birds & i got one lucky head shot of the Otter,

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
John. Wonderful to hear that this felt like home. Certainly you made a home just that special with your fantastic picture face on of the otter down in the river. Thanks so much. That picture is already drawing such much interest from all over the world.
Many thanks and have a wonderful Xmas and New Year.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Janet and her staff made us very welcome , th rooms were large and spacious , the break first was excellent the best we have ever had , the view out onto,he river was simply stunning the bird life incredible , wold return again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin james G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello. Thanks so much for your kind comments about Janet and the staff. We were away and leave Janet to see to our guests during this time. It means the world that she is highly thought of. Glad you enjoyed everything on offer and that the birds kept you busy. Sorry we missed meeting you> Maybe next time.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a charming place. We only stayed two nights but it was spot on. We had the 'honeymoon suite' which was perfect - especially for a (young) middle aged couple who only got engaged the week before. The room had everything we needed, fridge, kettle, tea/coffee etc., we even had our own table and chairs on a patio area. The garden is amazing with a hide to watch the birds by the riverbank - the red bishop wanted to be in every photograph and is quite a poser. Lovely breakfast served on the lawns overlooking the beautiful gardens. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Honeymoon room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyT46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Wow, what a super review. Red Bishop especially on show for you.
Its so nice when our guests appreciate the gardens and breakfasts.
Hope to see you back some day.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessel-Lo, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Finding a B&B in a city after spending several day's in remote area's like Cerder berg and Karoo National park, is not an easy task.We checked several ones wich were recommended in our traveler guide but non of them gave the richt feeling. When we entered the Yotclub, we felt immediately comfortable: nice rooms, very friendly reception, and of course the nice garden with private bird hide. During the night an owl called close to our window. The ultimate sound for birders like us to fall asleep...
The breakfast was a big surprise; not the classical egg and bacon, but a creative alternative omelet from Liz with spinash from the garden, mushrooms, tomatos...
We only stayed one night, but it was defenitvely the best night at a B&B in SA. Good value for reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
What a lovely review. Such kind words and it makes such a difference to hear guests have loved the garden and appreciated the wild life in the garden.
Many thanks and hope to see you back some day.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were going to stay at another B and B in Town, but they were closed. They sent us to the Yotclub, not good business sense guys. We found an absolutely delightful place, which we will definitely return to.

Des and Liz were very welcoming, the premises was in a beautiful location, the birds were entertaining and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting on the stoep with our glass of wine.

Breakfast was yummy and set us up for the day.

We could even wave to our friends who live across the valley!

Thank you, our stay was everything it could have been.

Room Tip: We had room 5, which was private and afforded lovely views from the stoep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello Sue.
How nice is that review.
So pleased you had a lucky find. Well Im sure you are back in Oz and keeping an eye on the cricket in Brisbane.
We look forward to your return sometime soon and that your meal down the road at Jemimas will be better next time.
All the best for the series and the season.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Property: Yotclub B&B
Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing