We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After checking out a couple of 4 star hotels in the town that we were unimpressed by we were lucky to find this guest house - a ”
Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #8 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“After checking out a couple of 4 star hotels in the town that we were unimpressed by we were lucky to find this guest house - a ”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, all facilities you need plus a very friendly hands on owner who provided a lovely breakfast on the lawn overlooking the bird and otter sanctuary. Highly recommended for a short stay in the area

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtBB, Owner at Yotclub B&B, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good day to the two of you. Thank you for placing your review with Trip adviser.
Great news that we came up scratch but some 4 star places didnt. It concerns us that you were a little hesitant to give us 5/5 for a few catagories. especially Location. I believe we are the best situated in town just a very short walk to restaurants yet a fantastic country setting along side the river in the centre of town. I will also look at the cleanliness point as we do our utmost to be spotless. Thank you for your positive views.
Des and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    63
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
273
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We loved our stay here, the hotel is a fantastic historic building & we had a lovely big room with lots of period character. Des and Liz gave us warm greeting and great tips for a day in the area. The gardens are very well kept and all the bird life was a big draw - so we particularly enjoyed seeing all the weavers and red bishops.
Breakfast was great and well presented, with different dishes each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcandTimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A lovely setting looking over the river with a private hide to observe the otters. We were treated to a warm welcome and in the morning a delicious breakfast which set us up for the day. The value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were a family with 5 adults, 3 teenagers and one toddler who arrived in Oudtshoorn, on a road trip, with no accommodation.
We made some calls from brochures that we collected en route and were told that we could be accommodated at the Yotclub. On arrival Janet was waiting for us at the front gate and after everyone running amok choosing a suitable room, we were happy, we were actually ecstatic. The price was just right, the accommodation beautiful and our host, FANTASTIC! She was so accommodating. The garden was astounding with rolling lawns, a hide out to watch the birds and otters and a sparkling blue pool. The children had a marvellous time! After a long day we climbed into bed and morning saw a breakfast spread to die for. We had fresh fruit, warm home backed bread, bacon, eggs and mushrooms and bottomless coffee and juice.
When next I visit Oudtshoorn this would be my preference of stay! Thank you for your kindness and willing to help us at the last minute....it was worth it!

Room Tip: For a family with children I would take the self accommodating option which is seperate from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 2 week hoiday in South Africa. After a long drive from Hermanus we needed somewhere to relax, and this certainly was the place. We were given a very warm welcome and were immediately offered a pot of tea sitting outside in the sunshine.
We stayed in room 5, which was brilliant - it has its own entrance and its own patio area, although there is plenty of communal space inside and out. This room also looked over the garden and countryside beyond. There was a fridge, coffee service (with fresh coffee and cafetiere) and free wifi.
The breakfast was simply the best we had in south africa! Trust us, you won't need any lunch!
The B&B was situated just off the main road, but the back was extensive and looked onto coutryside. The garden had a pool, gardens and backed onto a river with a bird and otter hide (unfortunately we didn't see any otters but did hear them!)
There was an honesty bar with wine, beer and soft drinks which was a great idea, and the sunset with a cold beer could not be beaten.
Liz was the perfect host for us and very informative and knowledgable. We went up the Swartberg pass (which we were reasured was fine in our polo hire car!) which should not be missed.
We were also recommended a number of restaurants and we tried 2 of them - nostalgia was opposite our road and was very nice and reasonably priced and Jemimas which was one of the best meals we had on holiday.

Overall, we have no hesitation of recommending this B&B and would certainly stay here again if we ever return to Oudtshoorn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I spent 3 really great nights at the Yotclub while working in Oudtshoorn. Best commendation in my view is that everything in the advertisement lived up to or exceeded expectation. I did have the advantage of being in the 'honeymoon suite' with a fabulous view as described. Breakfast was excellent (hot bread out of the oven every morning and excellent fresh fruit salad), beds did indeed have crisp white sheets and the staff were outstanding. Value for money was exceptional. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was traveling alone and stayed here for the night in a very comfortable room! Best of all, they offer many things that are welcome for weary travelers and uncommon among most hotels & inns:
- Free (and reliable) wifi
- Laundry service - I was only here one night and the friendly staff had all my laundry clean and folded VERY neatly. It was very affordable too: about $4 to $5 for a load
- Delicious, home made breakfast (even the bread tasted fresh out of the oven) included with the room

I'm not a bird watcher, but their pavilion to watch birds was very cool and a nice added bonus!

Also, it was within walking distance of two very good restaurants, which made dinner very easy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incoherent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Property: Yotclub B&B
Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing