We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room #5 Please!!”
Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #8 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room #5 Please!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at this unique B&B in the center of Oudtshoorn. From our room(#5) we could see the snow capped mountains in the distance and hear the stream that borders the property. You could walk to several restaurants and stores. Check out Jemima Restaurant. Des helped us out with the Meerkat Adventures and the Safari Ostrich Farm.

Room Tip: Stay in Room #5. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colombianv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    62
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
273
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I found the Yot Club B&B on Trip Advisor and it was everything that previous reviewers had promised. Liz and Des have created a paradise just off the main road. Their garden is a beautiful retreat with a serene vista across the marsh and on up into the mountains. Perfect for bird watching. Lovely sunsets. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is delicious and the hospitality of the owners made our stay perfect. Des was also full of information and excellent advice for the rest of our drive on through Knysna and on to PE. Yot Club B&B has a variety of room and cottage accommodations perfect for traveling singles, couples, friends and families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleTNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Absolutely awesome!!! Des & Liz =Perfect hosts. Very friendly staff, central, best breakfast ever & lots of room for kids to play.

Room Tip: Annex is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We arrived at the Yotclub late afternoon after a dusty and beautiful experience up the Swartberg Pass. A cold beer waited for us on the terrace looking out onto the most amazing view - totally unexpected - we saw the board at the top of the road, and looked down the little lane, it seemed impossible that all that expanse and quietness lay behind the beautiful old house, but we were certainly not disappointed.

We stayed for 3 days, soaking up the Karoo sun at the pool, watching birds in the bird hide, and on the second evening, glass of wine in hand, treated to a sighting of 4 cape clawless otters foraging in the river. It was hard to drag ourselves away to visit the surrounding sights, and we enjoyed being able to walk up to the restaurant for dinner, leaving the car behind at the B&B - the little restaurant, Nostalgie, at the top of the lane was quirky yet brilliant value for money, and so we ate there twice. The 2nd night we had some cheese and biscuits with our wine at the Yotclub - the sunset over the gardens was too amazing to miss.

We stayed in Room 5 - an enormous king sized bed and lovely views. Extremely clean. Airconditioning was very much welcomed, and much to my disapproval, hubbie enjoyed the free wifi a little too much. The breakfasts were unbelievable - fresh bread to each and every table, all 3 mornings we were treated to something different as our cooked meal - even the fruit course was varied each morning. Des & Liz and staff, thanks for a brilliant stay during our little trip to the Western Cape - we loved it! You really should be rated 4 stars - 3 just doesn't do you justice!

Room Tip: Room 5 is just fantastic, but any room will do because you spend all your time in the gardens enjoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed here several times now (whenever we pass through Outshoorn) as always it was a great stay with fantastic hosts. Breakfasts with fresh bread straight from the oven. personal owner service and lovely rooms. gardens are magnificent you would never know that you are so close to town. Great for bird watching (now has a hide).

Standards never drop here it just gets better.

Room Tip: All rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larryandgwendainuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had an absolutely perfect stay with Des & Liz last New Year's Eve .On arrival we immediately felt totally at home & were most comfortable throughout our unfortunately too short a stay.
To say they couldn't do enough for us is a big understatement. Des's expert help over & above the line of duty( we had booked out earlier that morning which happened to be New Year's Day !) when the ATM swallowed our card was invaluable .
The large well laid out garden complete with bird hide was tranquility itself whilst still being conveniently situated within the town - the breakfast was incredibly good.
Couldn't fault it in any way - long may you continue Des & Liz - you deserve it !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed there one night at the end of March. It was very quiet and tranquil place very well situated in Oudtshoorn. The house has a perferct backyard overlooking a river and fields on the other bank. This gives an impression of certain detachment.
Coming to more practical issued: the room (actually it was a small house) was clean, with good colonial style furniture; the breakfast was big and tasty.
If you are looking for a place to stay, we suggest to choose this one. You wouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olga_Mitya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Property: Yotclub B&B
Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing