We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 * experience!!!!!”
Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #13 of 79 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Yot Club and you can only use superlatives to describe the experience. Des & Liz are wonderful hosts and a very jolly couple. Last time we stayed it was in the separate accommodation away from the house and the facilities etc were fab. We had only intended to stay one night on our road trip but ended up staying another night. This time we stayed in a double room in the main house which was equally great! Nothing can beat sitting on the terrace quaffing a glass or two of wine overlooking the garden and the wildlife. The addition of the otter and bird hide is new since our last visit and we passed a happy hour watching the birds settle down for the night. Breakfasts are to die for. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catbesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 469 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

We only stayed in Oudtshoorn for one night on our way back to Cape Town, but were really pleased with this choice of B&B.
We were staying in a large room seperate to the main house that overlooked the gardens and reeds, with a huge bed.
The garden was fantastic, and was perfect for seeing a variety of birds up close.

We were visiting on Honeymoon and Des was great, giving us a bottle of champagne to celebrate, and also took the time to find the Wales rugby game for us to watch in the lounge.
Des even came to rescue me from the biggest spider I have ever seen in my room! According to him it was small, but to me anything the size of your hand is huge!

The house itself was full of character and boasted a lovely pool in the well manicured gardens.

Our room had its own private, gated parking right next to it, which meant not too far to carry our bags.

We would definately recommend staying here for a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhianyddS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was definitely one of the best places we stayed at during out recent 3-week tour of SA. Des, our host, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful throughout our 2-night stay. Our beautiful room had it's own secluded patio adjoining the main terrace, overlooking the lovelyl tranquil garden - a complete haven for wildlife and humans alike! I was keen to spot an otter, and my late evening vigil beside the river pool at the bottom of the garden was eventually rewarded by sight of one of the illusive beauties! I also spotted a kingfisher and beautiful sugar birds just before our delicious breakfast the following morning. Situated within Oudtshoorn itself, it was such a surprise to find this absolute tranquil & relaxing gem of a B & B. We are very keen to return - next time definitely for more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Their website gives good photos & advice about selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beitanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Rm 10. What a beautiful setting for a guest house - the bird sanctuary was lovely and I spent so much time just watching all the different birds, so peaceful. Our room was large with a kitchenette and very clean. The breakfast consisted of fruit, freshly made bread and a cooked option - it was of a very high standard and pleaantly served on the verandah or in the garden. Our hosts were very friendly and had lots of useful information about the local area. I would highly recommend that you stay here if you are planning a visit in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Beautiful room and great view. Within walking distance to good restaurants and the city center.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the end of February at this peaceful haven and had a great relaxing time. On arrival we sat outside our room (No.5) with a cup of tea provided by Des looking over the beautiful garden and with a great view of the distant mountains. You would not know that you were just minutes away from shops and restaurants. We swam and lazed by the pool and watched the birds. The bedroom was really comfortable and breakfast on the terrace was fantastic. Home made bread! Both Des and Liz gave us really helpful information on the route to take for our drive over the Swartburg - a trip not to be missed, if a little scary occasionally! They also recommended two very nice restaurants within easy walking distance. We would love to visit again and will certainly recommend Yotclub to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a simply wonderful view and own private corner of the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSue32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We regularly stay at Yot Club - the ideal stopover between Cape Town and the Eastern Cape. Spacious comfortable bedrooms with luxurious beds and quality linen. Breakfasts are delicious and beautifully served. Warm friendly hosts - nothing is too much trouble. The garden setting and birdlife is unsurpassed. No hesitation in recommending Yot Club.

Room Tip: There are several ensuite rooms - all good. One luxury suite in the garden is really special. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyCharlottesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
9.2 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $56 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing