We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely B&B!”
Review of Yotclub B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yotclub B&B
Ranked #7 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“What a lovely B&B!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have been staying at the YotClub off and on for the past 10 years and always really felt a relaxing, tranquil atmostphere. Des and Liz are excellent hosts (the best breakfasts) with such good taste! They have really decorated the rooms with ellegance and style and the expansive garden is something to experience....it hosts an Otter and Bird sanctuary which is very special. The Yotclub is on the river which is a great asset on its own. Well done to the Yotclub once again....

Room Tip: room 5 is the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    63
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
273
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Arrived on a very hot day (high 30s) to a great welcome from Liz who gave us tea on the terrace whilst we delighted in the weaver birds and red bishops in her garden above the river. Our garden facing room 5 did not disappoint either, spacious with a sink and some cutlery for those take aways and lunch time picnics and a small fridge to keep drinks cold although these were available from a mini bar on the veranda too. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful served outside and I even got a service wash done! Liz and Des also keep the menus for many of the local restaurants so there is a good choice for all price ranges- we stuck to La Dolce Vita, cheap cheerful and plentiful! Also ate pizza at Brian’s Grill.
The 1930s house is lovely and cool inside and we enjoyed looking at the polished wooden floors, old furniture and plenty of informative books about the area. We had come to chill and enjoy the wildlife as a 3 night break from our work in SA so we were very lazy and did not do anything except this spending time in the hide , wandering along the reed beds and watching the various bird feeders. There was a pool should we wish to have a dip and plenty of shady spots to sit and read. Heaven! The highlight was to come on the second night when we heard the otters splashing by the weir- went and sat by it and over they came and soon five pairs of eyes were reflected in the moonlight looking at us and coming up to the edge of the bank before going off up the river making their hunting noises. We were a bit scared as they seemed so large then went in to google them on the free wifi- yikes 5 feet long and up to 80lbs! It was with trepidation we went down again when we heard them later and this time got a better view of 5 seal size bodies coming over the dam and crunching up the crabs we had seen earlier. With more confidence I returned to the weir the next evening to see 2 otters lounging on it! They came over when I sat down and 3 more followed they seemed only about 3 feet long so must be young ones, after a quick look at me they went noisily on their way!
This is a great B and B and it seems to have guests from all over the world most of whom are not there for the wildlife- they are missing a trick IMHO. The owners could not be more welcoming and helpful and we will return at a different time of the year. Incidentally I found this place via the Route 62 page on Facebook.

Room Tip: room 5 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Just look at the other reviews !
heaven, oasis, warmest welcome, beautiful gardens, breakfast to die for.
They're all spot on. We were amazed at how peaceful the gardens are, yet only a five minute walk from a choice of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our second stay in the last two years and the experience was again outstanding.The warmest of welcomes, the same comfortable room as last time with a wonderful outlook over the gardens and riverbank.The staff are charming and the management of Des and Liz is of the highest order.Breakfast was one of the best ever and not to be missed

Room Tip: Ask for Room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

What a great find this B & B was! Truly an oasis of beautiful gardens in the middle of town!
The hosts Des and Liz are true professionals and have built up a lovely business that delivers on all fronts. The setting is fabulous with an abundance of birdlife and beautiful gardens. The breakfast was to die for with freshly baked home made bread and fresh fruit. It is in a fantastic location and walking to restaurants was easy and safe. It is also well located for the swatzberg pass and Prince Albert. We would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Thev honey moon suite is lovely with it's own private patio area well worth a little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caro198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed on 29th Feb, and from the moment we arrived we were looked after by Liz. The pot of tea was more than welcome !!! Our room was extremely comfortable, breakfast on the patio superb, and the overall hospitality from all the staff, and especially Liz & Des was magical. We would certainly recommend, and stay again when next in Oudsthoorn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightyatNo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Excellent value for money. A secret garden in the middle of town. A perfect place to relax. Couldn't have asked for more. Don't miss the complimentary sherry. //Ronny and Johanna

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna_Ronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yotclub B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yotclub B&B

Property: Yotclub B&B
Address: 9 Rudds Avenue, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yotclub B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yotclub B&B Otter & Birding Sanctuary is situated in centre of Oudtshoorn on the popular Cape Route 62, a few minutes walk to all leading restaurants & shops. Uninterrupted views of the majestic Swartberg mountains and overlooking the Grobbelaars River. The only B&B or guesthouse to have its own otter and birding hide. Owner run and managed since 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yotclub B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing