We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boulders Lodge & Spa
Ranked #27 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Great place to stay. Hidden gem in the Klein Karoo.Will stay here anytime

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d16a7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 149 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2010

I have to admit that i was really looking forward to staying at Boulders. Their website is very appealing.
When we arrived we were greeted very warmly and my 7 year old daughter was looked after by the lady on reception (sorry, I forget her name) immediately.
We were given a show around the hotel and then shown to our room which had a single added. The room we were given was room 6 which is under the actual hotel and could be called a garden room.

There are many plus's - Stunning food (best meal of our holdiay - I had ostrich, my other half had venison)
Friendly staff
Complimentary WIFI (much appreciated)
Lovely Jacuzzi and jungle jym
Great breakfasts

There are however a few minus's:

The room we were in faces the road which is the main road through to Cango Caves and is really busy, hence being very noisy.
Bathroom - needs a bit of a revamp. The bath which is a spa bath in the actual bedroom is great, but the toilet and shower could do with a bit of modernising.
Next door - We could hear the guests next door opening and closing their toiletry bags ... !!

Overall, a good venue, but I would suggest asking for a room facing the pool and not the road.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogarrhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We were 3 families consisting of 7 adults, 2 teenagers and 4 children. This is not easy toaccomodate, but Boulders Guest Lodge went out of their way, even adding a single bed here and there, to make our stay fantastic. My grandmother from the UK will take home fond memories of her stay, as will we in Cape Town. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and the jungle gym. It is so nice to have facilities to accomodate children.The staff are so warm and you feel at home in their company. We realy had a wonderful stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

What a mission to even get a reservation with the place. I have tried to correspond woth then via phone and e-mail and none of the other managers knows what the other is doing. Very unprofessional and has spoiled what was to be a special getaway by taking their time to get back to me and then giving away my booking. Will never deal with them again!!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
Thank cheftk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed 2 nights 18/19 March 09 and found the place exactly as advertised. Refurbishment well under way by the new managers and the rooms we had with adjoining balcony were excellent. The staff were very helpful and the meal we had in the restaurant was outstanding - no need to travel into town to eat I would recommend you eat here. We visited the Cango Caves and other places of interest (details given at reception) but also spent a lot of time using the spa where treatments were arranged without a problem. A bit of a drive to town but why would you want to go there when you can have a great time at Boulders Lodge & Spa.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We had a lovely stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the breakfast excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Ok, Boulders Guesthouse is ok. But nothing more than ok, that is when you take into account the high standard of South African guesthouses. Our room was below the pool so it was not very bright. When you add the fact that the walls were painted in a dark tone of red, it even felt a bit depressing.

The communal area, ie pool area, however was a bit more charming. But still less than perfect. The water in the jacuzzi smelt a bit and the pool was full of leafs. They offer dinner, which we didn't try, just because the staff that welcomed us was a bit pushy about staying for dinner. What we did like was the breakfast and the staff that helped us in the morning.

The guesthouse is located on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn on the road to Buffelsdrift and the Cango Caves.

In general I felt this was about the standard of a budget hotel. And I think there are budget hotels that offer better value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
2.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
16 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Terra Bianca Guest House
Terra Bianca Guest House
#26 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
Karoo Sun Guesthouse
#13 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
116 reviews
2 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#11 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
322 reviews
7.9 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Lodge & Spa

Address: 20 Bruwer Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $88 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulders Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy an unforgettable holiday in the Klein Karoo en route to the Cango Caves. The Boulders Lodge is fully air-conditioned, a wi-fi hotspot and a sparkling blue pool and jacuzzi on the deck awaits visitors who are ready to restore peace to body and soul. Boulders Lodge is more than a home away from home, it provides playtime for the kids (Jungle gym), pampering for the weary or romantic (Boulders Spa) and delicious dinners in our dining room when available. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Boulders Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing