We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goose Green Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goose Green Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Noordhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When our Whale Trail was cancelled recently, due to rain damage problems, 5 of our group were fortunate enough to find accommodation at Goose Green Lodge and what a more than perfect alternative it proved to be. Paul and I arrived there and found the others in our group pouring over hiking maps with Alan, our host, and soon we had our days planned. What a perfect venue being so close to the mountains not to mention the long stretch of white beach. For we hikers it was wonderful to enjoy our strenuous climbs in the mountains and then to return to the tranquility of our beautiful accomodation with everything that we could possibly need especially the wonderful hot showers/baths. We certainly had no regrets about missing the Whale Trail with all that Goose Green Lodge had to offer. Many thanks to Alan for taking us in on such short notice.

Room Tip: I think they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaandPaulScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
24
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Goose Green epitomises everything a good B&B should be. Positioned in a quiet cul-de-sac, it is nevertheless within convenient reach of everything. The hospitality is homely, consistent and warm. Nothing is too much trouble for owners Alan and Linda Coombes.

There is both catered and self-catering accommodation. We have enjoyed both, but usually opt for the flexibility of the two-bedroom, two-bathroom cottage. There is always tea, coffee and fresh milk waiting in the unit when we arrive, as well as a generous bowl of fresh fruit. The units are excellent value for money and have access to satellite TV and a DVD player. Alan’s collection of music DVDs and movies make visits to the nearby shopping mall, where there is a video rental store, unnecessary.

The beach, shops, restaurants and local tourist attractions are all within a short drive. We have been back several times and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: We prefer the spacious cottages, but the rooms are very good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I have just spent the weekend at Goose Green Lodge with friends. We needed to take some time-out from our heavy work schedules and what a peaceful and tranquil setting to do just that. Alan and Linda gave us a friendly welcome and were so accommodating in supplying whatever we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The cottage was beautiful, clean and exceeded our expectations, with comfortable beds to insure a good nights rest. I definitely recommed GGL to anyone who needs a quick get away for relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernied8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Wonderful spot with wonderful hosts. We were there with friends for a brief tour before a wedding. Alan the owner can not do enough to help you whether it be maps of the surrounding areas with directions to reviews and directions to all the restaurants and pubs in the area. Lovely setting with very comfortable rooms and beautiful breakfast each morning. Very safe too You would not regret staying at Goose Green

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Goose Green Lodge each of the past 6 years (the New Year would never be the same without spending time in the tranquillity of GGL) and now I thought it was time to post my first (ever) review. It exceeds expectations, the best night sleep in very comfy beds in the B&Bs and though I have not stayed there, the two self-catering cottages look luxurious; great for those with families or those wanting to have a long relaxing stay.

The breakfast is the highlight of the day, eggs cooked to order by Linda and wonderful bread, cheese, cold meats and jams. Alan is knowledgeable of what to do and where to go and nothing is too much trouble; just turn up and let Alan suggest how to best spend the next few days. As a connoisseur of fine wine, there is always a good selection available from his ‘cellar’ and the honesty fridge (in the guest lounge) means that if you want to end the day watching the sun set, a drink is always available to hand.
Noordhoek is at the south end of Chapman’s Peak Drive (a must for anyone travelling down to Cape Point). As you come down from the Drive, you pass Noordhoek Farm Village on the left and just before you pass the garden centre on the right you will see the round GGL sign, take the next right (pass the entrance to the Garden centre), right again and then right again and then up a narrow gravel drive to the reception.

We have stayed in a number of places across South Africa and we just think that this B&B is in the absolutely perfect position for a wonderful relaxing stay. We have found that Cape Town itself can get very hot and what we like about Noordhoek is that you get a wonderful evening sea breeze that enables you to get to sleep without the aid of aircon and you are away from the hustle and bustle of a city.

There are plenty of excellent restaurants around the Noordhoek area; Harbour House, Brass Bell, Foodbarn to name a few – Alan and Linda know plenty more.
Now off to write some more reviews!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M1BDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

This would have to be one of the best B & Bs I have ever stayed in. Alan and his family give their best to make every guest feel at home, sharing their knowledge of the area to give tips what to do during the stay. The B & B is easily reachable by car and is an ideal base for trips to both Cape Town and the Cape Peninsula.

The breakfasts are amazing and the level of customer service provided is well and truly outstanding. We were happy to have chosen with Alan and will gladly return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSchulz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
4.9 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
10.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 11 in Noordhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 11 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goose Green Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goose Green Lodge

Property: Goose Green Lodge
Address: 3 Briony Close, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goose Green Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goose Green Lodge in the tranquil Noordhoek Valley, offers views of the mountains and is in close proximity to one of the most beautiful beaches in South Africa. Set in an established Cape garden, the lodge offers a choice of B&B or self catering accommodation. For warm summer afternoons a pool and a traditional braai area offers convivial outside relaxation, but the garden also contains a shady gazebo and lots of comfortable garden furniture for enjoying some quiet moments. Goose Green Lodge offers 4 Double/Twin rooms, en suite with bath or shower. All rooms have digital safes, heaters and coffee/tea making facilities. The suite is semi-self-catering, with a tiny kitchenette and seating area as well as an en-suite bathroom with shower over bath. It is ideal for business travellers or couples staying a few days. Sunbird Cottage has two cosy bedrooms that share a single, large bathroom with a bath and a shower, as well as a comfortable lounge, breakfast nook and fully-equipped farm-style kitchen. Guinea Fowl Cottage has two spacious bedrooms, both en suite, equipped with a bath or a shower, lounge, breakfast nook and a modern, stylish kitchen. We also have DSTV, WiFi and a large DVD collection available. Child care can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Goose Green Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goose Green Lodge Noordhoek, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing