We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The same enjoyable experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Foodbarn Restaurant

The Foodbarn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Noordhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The same enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

One goes to eat a meal at the Foodbarn as a bit of a treat and so it proved this time.The food is imaginatively cooked and presented although not as exotic as La Colombe when Franck established that as a gourmet's delight.This time the fish eaters had the best of it as the Karoo lamb was a little over cooked and chewy. The service was cheerful and efficient and the ambience was described by one of our party of 6 as "cosy".One is spoilt by having the Foodbarn as your local and we will continue to visit as often as the occasion demands.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    189
    51
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Culinary excellence in modern french country setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I live in and love Noordhoek. So does internationally reknown chef, Franck Dangereuse, who puts all of this passion for the area into his three eating experiences on the one property. The bistro is fine dining and superbly romatic ambience at its best. I have eaten there often, and never been let own by the excellent service and wonderful food. The foodbarn deli across the carpark, has superb coffee, tea, breakfasts and lunches, and turns into canlelit tapas wonderland at night. Local or visitor, make this a definite stop sometime soon!

Helpful?
Thank Mary-anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best deserts !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have a sweet tooth. Ordered three various deserts. Loved it. Never come to Cape Town and not visit the Foodbarn. The standard always the same. To me...of all the restaurants I visit....the best deserts!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank elisbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A haven of delight in the Cape...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Some of the best parts of the Cape are in the more hidden away, off-the-beaten track locales, and a trip to the Foodbarn amply demonstrates this. Franck, Dangereuse by name, charming by nature, knows what it takes to run a superb kitchen - he took La Colombe into the highest echelons of World cuisine, but here at the Foodbarn he has successfully achieved the dichotomous - a fabulous restaurant to more than meet the gourmet palate of the World's most serious, fastidious and demanding of Gourmands, but also created a relaxed haven within the already laidback and faintly Bohemian Noordhoek Village.

The food is divine; French inspired but drawing on the variety of Cape fresh produce, the wine list creative and not over-priced and the whole experience one to be savoured.

Also not to be missed is Franck's neighbouring Deli - the heartbeat and meeting-place of this artistic, literate community; a place to just be and to enjoy the sumptuous fresh bakery offerings and fine barrista coffees.... I can't wait to get back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“talented chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

went here on a rainy day as the barn has no views to speak of. Each course was well presented, full of favour and a joy to eat. The baby calamari starter and the fish tartare were outstanding. The main course of lamb was a real treat, cooked to perfection. The best pudding was the passionfruit cheesecake althought the mango puffs with liqourice ice cream was a novel experience. Our waiter james was very attentive and eager to please. My only moan was that as there was only two of us they put us on the worst table next to the toilets and stairs going up even though there was other tables free all lunchtime. I appreciate they were hoping for walkins of 4 persons to fill the other tables but as we had booked I would have expected to get a better table. You must try the pies from the bistro too especially the meat version

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foodbarn Restaurant also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Foodbarn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing