We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horizon Holiday Cottages was great! Clean, comfortable and Dennis & Jo were perfect hosts!”
Review of Horizon Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horizon Cottages
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed at Horizon Cottages for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay! Unfortunately, we didn't have time to try out the swimming pool or braai (bbq) but we will definitely do that next time, because, we'll be back!
The cottages are extremely good value for money and conveniently situated near shops and some beautiful beaches, namely Kommetjie and Scarborough.
Dennis & Jo, the owners, were very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home immediately.
In my opinion, Horizon is ideal for couples or families who don't want to stay in a hotel and who want a lovely sea holiday in a quieter area away from the busy city!
We will be back for at least a week or two next time round!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christodreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

My Wife Angela and I were fortunate enough to secure a booking in one
of the cabanas at Horizon Holiday cottages for 18 nights in December
2010 for our honeymoon. The Cabana that we stayed in was neat,
comfortable and more than big enough for the two of us. We had such an
absolutely wonderful time that we decided to extend our holiday by a
further 5 days. The accommodation was affordable and well worth the
money. One of the most fantastic parts of Horizon is its location.
Less than 5 minutes from two different shopping malls, five minutes
from Noordhoek beach, less than 15 minutes from Fish hoek beach,
situated at the base of the famous Chapman's peak drive, which makes
it less than a half an hour from Hout Bay. And at the same time, at
the base of Ou Kaapse Weg. In the area there are many wonderful
restaurants and shops. We made friends with Sylvia, Granville and
Joshua, who were wonderful hosts and always had time for us. Little
Joshua was always running around with the children of the other guests
and was a shining light. We will certainly be returning to Horizons,
hopefully next time with our children who normally would holiday with
us.


Again many, many thanks Sylvia, Granville and Joshua for a memorable
honeymoon, the memories will be with us for years to come.


Danny and Angela Wessels from Johannesburg

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Our chalet was so cosy, airy and just peaceful. We needed to escape reality for a while and our 5 day stay enabled us to do just that. The view from our balcony was spectacular, especially at night. Sylvia and Granville are awsome people, so friendly and sincere souls. THANKS guys we had a WONDERFUL time and will definately come back as discussed this time with my daughter, son-in-law and grand daughter. Take care, till next time.
best wishes
Kathy and Mark Collins

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markacollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed at Horizons for 3 months whilst waitnig for our new home to be built and it has been great! We will be a little sad leaving.... Will definately recommend it to friends and family. Fantastic big enclosed gardens for the children to run around. The host and hostess and their young son has been very friendly and made us feel very comfortable during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillamcelhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed a week in April, very clean, nice location, security-excellent-which is important to us, Easy parking, helpful friendly owner without being overly attentive, cheap as chips aswell. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capetownwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I had visited Cape Town for business many times before and had visited Table Mountain when I came across Noordhoek and found Horizon Cottages. I love this place! It is idyllic and convenient for everything you want to do when on a vacation. The stunning vista of the distant hills and the sunsets were just breathtaking.

We stayed at one of the very comfortable Cabanas and enjoyed using the pool that we overlooked. Everything here is well appointed for a true South African experience. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners who cooked for us more than once and we really enjoyed their company.

We spent many lazy days on Long Beach with a picnic basket and loved the tranquility. We also visited Table Mountain, The Cape of Good Hope, Simon's Town and many other local areas and the furthest drive was 30 minutes. We decided not to visit Cape Town itself during this trip, but even that is only 40 minutes away. Overall, Horizons is one of the best self-catering accommodation that we have ever stayed at. The local grocery store is only 5 minutes away at Long Beach Mall and is also surrounded by restaurants and eateries.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COrloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Granville arranged all the requirements for us, and all we had to do was to enjoy the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mica1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noordhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
African Violet
African Violet
#1 of 9 in Noordhoek
197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monkey Valley Resort
Monkey Valley Resort
#2 of 2 in Noordhoek
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 10 in Noordhoek
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 10 in Noordhoek
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Noordhoek
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Cottages

Address: 9 Sea Cottage Drive | Noordhoek, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Noordhoek
Price Range: $53 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Cottages has made holidays in Cape Town affordable with fully equipped self Catering family cottages and Cabanas in a rural coastal valley suburb of Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa; offering a tranquil country lifestyle. Our guests enjoy the peace and tranquility, but find that our accommodation is very conveniently situated for all of the attractions of Cape Town.We offer family cottages that sleep 4-6 people and romantic studio Cabanas for a couple or with a small child.Our accommodations have fully equipped kitchens for self catering and everything required for a relaxing holiday.Beds are King size in the main bedrooms and all have orthopedic mattresses with luxury white cotton percale to ensure a good night's rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horizon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Cottages Noordhoek, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing