We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't be better”
Review of African Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Queen
Ranked #1 of 10 Noordhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“couldn't be better”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

this guesthouse is just amazing! Bram and Margaux are very kind, warm people. They know a lot of people and help you to organise your trip around Cape Town. Everybody loves them! The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Every room has it's own place to relax in the garden. You feel safe here and you can truly relax. Breakfast is great and every day slightly different.I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to visit Cape Town. Everything is nearby and it's a very peaceful and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lievedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    31
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
91
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I was on a business trip in Cape Town and had to stay over the weekend. Therefore i opted for an B&B.

And i was very happy that i did ! Bram and Margaux (the owners) welcomed us late saturday evening and offered us a drink immediately. Felt like being home at the spot. They made a reservation in an restaurant for us and all of that without hastle.

The room and bathroom are decorated in an european style with a touch of africa. And all is very clean.

The next day after a great breakfast Bram helped us organising a full day program discovering the beautiful Cape region.

Overall great experience and when i will come back to the Cape i will for sure come back here instead of booking a hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huguesheylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night in this lovely guesthouse. The hosts were very welcoming with a glass of bubbly and the fire was on on the cold Cape Town night in June. The rooms are well appointed with good beds and spacious shower. Breakfast was very good too with a variety of cold cuts, fresh fruit and Bram prepared some scrambled eggs and trout as well. Would have loved to stay a bit longer. Next time..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessyLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussel
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great stay in African Queen in Noordhoek


Guest rooms and the whole guest area is very nice and prove of good taste
Bram and Margaux are very friendly, having a lot of useful travel tips
Location is excellent : between Cape point and Cape town
Breakfast is very good

Can only recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrien w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza, Mwanza, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the African Queen for three nights. We had a beautiful room and the hospitality wa amazing. Lovely breakfast and Margaux and Bram did everything they could to help us organise everything we needed. Truly a wonderful place under excellent management! Would always recommend it to friends! Just wish we had stayed longer! Thank you for an amazing time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Don't make a mistake and stay anywhere else! We loved our stay at the African Queen - we stayed at many guesthouses in South Africa, and the African Queen was truly great. Our only regret is that we didn't stay with them longer. EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at African Queen. There was a service bar available in the room, just in case you feel peckish. The location is superb.

I felt the only thing missing from the rooms were a decent aircon and tv.

The hosts were very accommodating with a late booking, late arrival and packed lunches for on the road travel.

When out in the southern suburbs again, I will definitely use them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adriancarter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
3.5 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
208 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Violet
African Violet
#1 of 8 in Noordhoek
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 10 in Noordhoek
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Noordhoek
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceangolf Guest House
Oceangolf Guest House
#4 of 8 in Noordhoek
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Queen

Property: African Queen
Address: 11 Wolf Power Close, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — African Queen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil hideaway with breathtaking views of Noordhoek beach, Chapmans Peak and mountains. Stylish cosy bedrooms offer kingsize beds with crisp white linen, bar fridge, tea tray and free wifi. Delicious and healthy organic breakfast is served on the terrace at the pool or indoors. Four star graded guesthouse with 7 rooms and 1 cottage. Situated between Cape Town centre and Cape of Good Hope by the Atlantic Ocean. Our solar heated 10x3,5m lap pool and covered terrace provides a beautiful spot to watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your African Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Queen Noordhoek, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing