We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't make a mistake!”
Review of African Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Queen
Ranked #1 of 10 Noordhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't make a mistake!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Don't make a mistake and stay anywhere else! We loved our stay at the African Queen - we stayed at many guesthouses in South Africa, and the African Queen was truly great. Our only regret is that we didn't stay with them longer. EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    31
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
90
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at African Queen. There was a service bar available in the room, just in case you feel peckish. The location is superb.

I felt the only thing missing from the rooms were a decent aircon and tv.

The hosts were very accommodating with a late booking, late arrival and packed lunches for on the road travel.

When out in the southern suburbs again, I will definitely use them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adriancarter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the African Queen only for 1 night and we really wished we could have stayed for more. Bram and Margaux were the perfect hosts being warm and friendly. The room was clean, tidy and comfy with a great bathroom and even better shower. The outside area has a pool which unfortunately due to the weather we did not have a chance to enjoy, however a massive bonus is that they have a donkey...yes a donkey...which was friendly and happy to be fed. The breakfast was freshly made and tasted delicious. We would have absolutely no problem in reccomending a stay at the African Queen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowdyburns73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the African Queen when we were in South Africa for a family wedding. We chose it initially due to its proximity to the wedding venue, and we certainly made the right choice! Bram & Margeaux are helpful, hospitable and superb hosts. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was beautiful with an enormous luxury bathroom. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious. Fantastic garden area and pool to relax in.We would not hesitate to return or to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollygirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed for 9 days with 10 peoples (6 adults and 4 childrens).
It was Great !

- Margaux and Bram (and Julian) are Great hosts
- Nice Location
- Have all accommodations.
- Super Breakfast (and if you want you can also stay for a nice dinner)

For peoples which need to stay nearby Capetown, I would recommend this.

Its really nearby a lot of nice places: Houtbay, Simons Town, Cape point, Kommetje, Fish hoek, Steenberg, Tokai, Constantia and Cape Town etc ...

Once you've been there, you'll want to go back.

Margaux and Bram. Thanks for everything !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar de la Horadada, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights with Margeaux and Bram, great hosts. We were the only guests as it was nearing the end of winter but they could not have been more helpful on where to go and how to get there. The breakfast were great, as much as one could eat, good variety and very tasty.
The room was spacious, clean and well equipped and although the nightime temperatures were quite low the room heater kept us warm. The guest house is away from the hustle and bustle of a town but ideally situated for the Cape Town National Park, in fact the whole of the Cape area and only a very scenic 30 min coastal drive to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Pool Suite is great but then all rooms open onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently stayed in the African guest house for eight nights, and it was an excellent experience. Margeaux and Bram were great hosts, the food was fantastic - I'd advise anybody who stays there to eat dinner at the guest house at least once, we were there for a braai and it was definitely a memorable meal. The breakfast was also great every morning, and we greatly appreciated Margeaux's willingness to make reservations at restaurants for us. I'd recommend the guest house to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnzelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
4.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.0 mi away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 10 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Rose Country Lodge
Wild Rose Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Noordhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Violet
African Violet
#1 of 8 in Noordhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Queen

Property: African Queen
Address: 11 Wolf Power Close, Noordhoek 7979, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Noordhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — African Queen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil hideaway with breathtaking views of Noordhoek beach, Chapmans Peak and mountains. Stylish cosy bedrooms offer kingsize beds with crisp white linen, bar fridge, tea tray and free wifi. Delicious and healthy organic breakfast is served on the terrace at the pool or indoors. Four star graded guesthouse with 7 rooms and 1 cottage. Situated between Cape Town centre and Cape of Good Hope by the Atlantic Ocean. Our solar heated 10x3,5m lap pool and covered terrace provides a beautiful spot to watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your African Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Queen Noordhoek, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing