We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Milnerton
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    534
    207
    106
    79
See reviews for
319
462
61
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It really is a great hotel with an amazing staff.
The only problem is it's quite far from everything, I mean everything...
The hotel restaurant is outrageously priced and the Greek restaurant next door is awful.
So the only other dining option is a Thai restaurant (3min walk), which is really good.

The pool and the spa is very good, of course the view of Cape Town is absolutely breath taking. The complimentary breakfast is very good as well.

The only down side of this hotel is it's location...

Room Tip: If you're gonna stay here, try an get a room with a view...very hard to get, have to book very e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F35Captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear F35Captain

Thank you for your comments and I really glad that you think we have a great hotel with amazing staff. It is always encouraging to read positive reviews.

I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your meal at Zorbas, one of our outsourced restaurants but I will ensure to inform the owner of this.

I hope you were able to make use of our free shuttles so that Cape Town was more accessible to you.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 x nights in a Junior Suite. The room was not quite ready on our arrival, On an inspection of the suite, we found that out of 3 patio doors (yes 3) only one was able to be opened, and this with extreme difficulty, even more so when the adjoining window fell apart !We duly managed to get the maintainence chap out who did his best to fix it, However we could not lock the balcony door during our stay. The entire suite needs a good make over, the curtains were not connected to the rail properly, carpets were frayed, a standard lamp was ripped.
However, the suite itself was fine, no shortage of space, 7, yes 7, wardrobe spaces, 2 x televisions, one huge balcony with the sun and lovely views of Table Mountain and Cape Town with the sea lapping just a few yards away.
The breakfast was extremely good and plentiful, as were the meals, we had both there, and in the Zorba's restaurant just outside (highly reccommended).
If you do stay there it is advisable to have a car, as the city centre is about 10 minutes drive away, parking at the hotel is free, supervised, and hassle free. Canal Walk shopping mall (supposed to be the largest in Africa) is about 10 minutes drive from the hotel and is well worth a visit, if you want to stay in your wife's good books !
We did get looked upon favourable by the friendly staff when it was time to leave, after explaining what we thought should be done, especially regarding our suite.
Hope this review doesn't put people off altogether, as the hotel couldn't be situated in a more quiet location and not bad value for money.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is a must. A suite is really too big for just 2 people, unless you need 2 televisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryPlymouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear HarryPlymouthEngland

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is always good to read positive reviews on our food and service. My sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues you encountered in your room. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms so the next time you visit Cape Town please do not hesitate to contact me on gm@lagoonbeachhotel.co.za and I will make sure you are very well looked after.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was very surprised to see this modern spacious hotel,where I were booked in on a conference and stayed in a comfortable junior suite.The food was very enjoyable (usually large quatities are not prepared with care )but in this case I was wrong,especially the desserts I highly recommend . I noticed that the hotel cater for the asian market (their needs are fully catered for). The service dissappointed me a bit as the roomservice attendant took my order wrong,then when I refused to pay for her error,slammed the phone in my face . This is something unheard of in the Service Industry (im in the industry myself for 15 years),but a very friendly and attentive Jacob apologized on her behalf. Jacob also called me back the previous day ,to put my mind at ease about my reservation. I love the beautuful setting,not traffic noise at night,good food ,comfortable room,beautiful views . I will certainly visit again..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear HarryPlymouthEngland

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is always good to read positive reviews on our food and service. My sincerest apologies for the maintenance issues you encountered in your room. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms so the next time you visit Cape Town please do not hesitate to contact me on gm@lagoonbeachhotel.co.za and I will make sure you are very well looked after.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

a very nice place with table mountain view n a great beach, great for all. the only problem was traveling to cape town city some times, its was very expensive to travel to city from there. it would be great if hotel could arrange for frequent transport to the city. the staff was very helpful but it was really difficult to make them understand a very very normal requirement of mine "a glass of water". over all a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k4r7ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear k4r7ik

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. The hotel does in fact provide free shuttles to the Waterfront that can be booked. This shuttle leaves the hotel and Waterfront at scheduled times.

I hope you will return to Lagoon Beach Hotel very soon.

Regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have just spent four days in Milnerton near Capetown for a conference. The hotel is very pleasant with great view of the ocean and Table Mountain. The service was very good and the facilities clean and modern. WiFi is free but quite slow. the breakfast was also good and typical of buffet breakfasts. The room was comfortable and with a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarianmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear aquarianmark

Thank you so much for your comments on TA. I trust you had a successful conference and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay here in the past three months. The attraction is the fantastic views of Cape Town and Table Mountain. Last time I shared a garden room with my Granddaughter which was adequate if a little dated, but this time my husband and I plumped for the full works of luxury room with sea view. These rooms are also dated and need attention to such things as loose grab rails, mouldy tiling in bathroom, faulty balcony doors, leaking a/c system and general tiredness of decor. The lower the number the better the view but go for second floor because the rooms on the first floor are directly over the function rooms and boy do you know it - the loud disco music is certainly not conducive to restful sleep. Breakfast is adequate and bar staff are friendly and helpful. Reception are not particularly helpful and did not carry through promises made and as for the transport section I would advise to avoid at all times. This section is run by Tusk Travel and last time I stayed here I was horrified that they charged me double fare (not cheap in the first place) for transport after 9pm but neglected to tell me this until we returned. As part of their packages the hotel offer a free shuttle service to the Waterfront but journeys are few and far between and times fairly inconvenient and if you are not one of the lucky 8 persons to be allocated a seat then you will have to pay them an exorbitant taxi fare to get anywhere. We were told we could only have two spaces for our party of four as the shuttle was full but we could have a taxi for 150 rand for two people. If we wanted a taxi for four people it would cost us 350 rand??? We decided to wait and when the shuttle actually arrived 20 minutes late we were the only passengers on it. Something is desperately wrong with this system and needs attention. We did not have enough time to eat and get the last shuttle back at 9.15 so booked a very reasonable taxi back at 10.30 pm for 150 rand for the 4 of us. Complaints to reception fell on deaf ears. As they say 'buyer beware'.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear shish57

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have been in contact with our outsourced transfer supplier and raised your concerns and I sincerely apologise for the frustration you were subjected to.

I hope that we will see you at Lagoon Beach Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnerton
7.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
7.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
311 reviews
7.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
4.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Lagoon Gate Drive, Lagoon Beach, Milnerton 8000, South Africa (Formerly Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Beach Hotel offers unequalled vistas of Table Mountain and Atlantic Ocean. Immersed in an atmosphere of contemporary minimalist design and neutral tones, reflecting the natural surrounding environment. Decor is typical of a stylishly appointed modern city hotel. The hotel's 32 beach frontage deluxe suites offer a breathtakingly unique oceanside experience. Ten minutes from Cape Town's Waterfront, with direct access to the beach. Abalone Brassiere is a culinary delight to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Hotel And Apartments
Lagoon Beach Milnerton
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Apartments
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing