We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Milnerton
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The only saving grace of this hotel is its stunning view. The rest is pretty average to below average. This is the second time I stayed there (the location is central) and I was dispappointed again. The the service is mediocre, the food is below average. Service is impersonal - the place lacks atmosphere. The first time I stayed there the much publicised beach bar was unable to mix the cocktails on its menu a it did not have the ingredients. The service manager never returned my call... Conference facilities are ok, but avoid staying there!

Room Tip: Do not take a room unless you have an acean view. The back faces only a dreary main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alta_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Alta W

I was very disappointed to have read your comments on TA. We have concentrated on our service over the past year and have had very good feedback but it would seem that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual standard. Food is also a highlight of most peoples stay with us and I am very surprised that you felt the food was below average.

Please accept my sincerest apologies and I encourage you to contact me personally on gm@lagoonbeachhotel.co.za so that we may address your issues effectively and ultimately learn from our mistakes.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    489
    194
    100
    72
See reviews for
290
428
53
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stunning rooms, great reception, service at times a bit slow, menus to restricted in choise.
But all round a great experience. Suite was great, beds sleep very well. Staff is very friendly.
Will return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanDu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JanDu_13

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TA. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have actually restructured our bar menu so that there is more choice available for our guests.

We hope to see you when you return and I have no doubt that you will see an improvement in menu choice and service consistancy.

Regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

do not book a appartement, they are dirty and destroyed (mould over the whole bath sealing)
the staff is very nice, also the bar, the pool and the city view
the hotel has a shuttle service to the city and the canal walk, which is free of charge

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwallmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mwallmann

I was very disappointed to have read your review on the apartments when we had just gotten a very positive review on the apartments. We have painted all the apartments in November so I am shocked that you say your apartment has a mouldy ceiling. Please would you contact me at gm@lagoonbeachhotel.co.za so that I may find out which apartment you were in.

Please accept my sincerest apologies if you did indeed experience a dirty apartment as this is certainly not the standard we offer or that I would accept. I am glad, however, that you enjoyed the public areas at the hotel and found the staff pleasant.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetown
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location , you cannot get any closer to the beach than at Lagoon Beach Hotel. You prob have the best view of Cape Town from this hotel. from the moment that you arrive at the Hotel you are treated like a King. The Hotel has everything and if their was anything short the staff of this place would make up for this. The facilities ultra modern , neat and clean. The hall ways are very spacious and airy you don't feel you in a hotel with dark passages etc. I would recom this play any day of the year 5 STARS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear jpreid

Wow, thank you so much for this review! I am so glad you felt like a KING with us and I hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay in the self catering apartment side of the hotel.
The room was a good size and very clean and the facilities at the hotel were fantastic.
The location of this hotel is great as its just a short drive to V&A waterfront and the city center. Its located right on the beach and offers wonderful views of table mountain and the city.
The staff were very good and our house keeper Shannon was lovely. When we eventually return to Cape Town we will be looking to stay again at the hotel. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Cape Town.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear rikki 1

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TA and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lagoon Beach Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed on our final night of our honeymoon and were upgraded to a junior suite. Were left cookies in the room. Could not have felt more looked after. Amazing views across the bay to Cape Town and a lovely beach for a romantic walk. Would recommend and comes with a great breakfast. Thanks for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonBeachTeam, General Manager at Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Amy H

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your marriage. We hope to see you for your 1 year anniversary.

Hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards,

André Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnerton
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
4.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Lagoon Gate Drive, Lagoon Beach, Milnerton 8000, South Africa (Formerly Lagoon Beach Hotel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Milnerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Milnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Beach Hotel offers unequalled vistas of Table Mountain and Atlantic Ocean. Immersed in an atmosphere of contemporary minimalist design and neutral tones, reflecting the natural surrounding environment. Decor is typical of a stylishly appointed modern city hotel. The hotel's 32 beach frontage deluxe suites offer a breathtakingly unique oceanside experience. Ten minutes from Cape Town's Waterfront, with direct access to the beach. Abalone Brassiere is a culinary delight to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Hotel And Apartments
Lagoon Beach Milnerton
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Apartments
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa Cape Town/Milnerton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing