We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect day in South African Wine Country with Marlene, the perfect guide to it all!”

Cape Town Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Milnerton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a South African - Cape Town-based - tour operator with a serious passion for wine which allows us to offer our clients unique gourmet wine and dine experiences - whether it is on a one day wine tour in Cape Town, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, or a three day wine tour that covers the entire Cape Wine region. We have daily Wineland tours departing from Cape Town and can cater for all wine lovers from the wine novice to the wine connoisseur.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect day in South African Wine Country with Marlene, the perfect guide to it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a flawless day in the South African Winelands visiting three exquisite wineries. Our entire day was perfectly orchestrated from end-to-end:
- on-time pick-up;
- comfortable (brand new) vehicle (and very safe driving!);
- Marlene -- an incredibly warm/engaging/humorous/knowledgeable guide who was a wonderful addition to our group. She was the perfect presence -- not imposing in the slightest bit but fully engaged and present the entire day. We were a mixed group (1 solo traveler, 1 couple and 3 friends -- from 4 different countries) and she really brought us together, making the day an unforgettable experience for us all;
- impeccable choice in wineries with enough (but not too much) distance between each winery so as to allow us the opportunity to see the countryside;
- included a guided drive through Stellenbosch which was a lovely addition to the day;
- excellent lunch site choice with a breathtaking view and delicious food.

The trip could not have been improved upon and I cannot recommend this tour company -- and Marlene, in particular, highly enough.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank priscillamunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Priscillamunoz,

It is great to hear that you had such a good time with Marlene.
Thanks for the kind words and I will be sure to pass them onto Marlene.

We appreciate your support.

Kind regards
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cedric is a Champion !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife & I are Aussies & booked a 3 day private wine tour with Luhambo (meaning Journey) in early April 2013. Cedric arrived at our Capetown accommodation on time & from that minute on the 3 of us had a magnificent time together. We requested to visit some of the better wineries with top reds & a few rustic or small backyard wineries & he delivered superbly. Yes we asked a thousand questions about the wine farms, the process, the cellaring & marketing and Cedric was "Mr Google" of the South African wine industry sharing his broard knowledge, passion & enthusiasm for the industry & its people.
The accommodation in Franschhoek was exceptional & the restaurants recommended like Le Petite Ferme were exceptional choices. In the evenings Cedric would drop us at the restaurant door & return to collect us after the dining experience. Cedric went the extra bit in everything we did or requested.
We asked him for a great scenic location to have a "beer" on afternoon & he escorted us to a Hotel in Franschhoek & joined us for a much deserved ale overlooking the beautiful township.
The visit to where nelson Mandala did his Walk to Freedom was very special & Cedric again shared his history knowledge.
This 3 day private tour was more than a wine tour thanks so very much to our great new friend Cedric !!
Thanks heaps mate,
We will be back. ( PS : the Missing Virgin & Penny Black made it home to my wine fridge)
Mark & Teddy H

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussieseurosummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Aussieseurosum....

You've got me blushing and I don't blush easy :-).
Thanks for the kind words but it was an absolute pleasure showing you guys around the Cape Winelalnds. You guys are great company and i hope to see you back in SA sometime soon.

All of the best.
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - Marlene is a credit to your company :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I booked on to a day tour to the Cape Of Good Hope with two wine tastings. The trip was excellent but what made it even better was our tour guide, Marlene. She was knowledgable, funny, informative and she knew the best times to visit places along the way to avoid the crowds of people.
My husband was poorly on the day and she helped get some medication for him which was a service above and beyond what she had to do.
Our memories of South Africa are really special and this tour will stay up there at the top with those memories. Thank you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Disco_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Disco_Al,

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and that Marlene took good care of you and your husband. Thanks for your support, we really appreciate it.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine Tour - Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had an exceptional day touring the Stellenbosch and Franschhoek regions. What made this tour extra special was our guide, Marlene. She was informative, relaxed, funny and happy to adapt the tour to meet the particular preferences of our group. She also picked a stunningly beautiful location for lunch.

The minibus was comfortable and the tour group was just the right size (7 people). I have been on tours before which feel rushed, with guides who try to pressure you buy from the places you visit or constantly give sales pitches for other services. This was never the case with Luhambo. It really is a remarkable company which I would whole-heartedly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Matt W,

Thanks for the kind words and taking time out to write a review for us.
Marlene is really a top guide and she sends her regards.

Kind regards
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic day to Cape Point and lots of wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Marlene picked my friend and I up from our hotel along with three other people and we spent the most fantastic day going down as far as Cape Point. Marlene was knowledgeable and went out of her way to look after each of us. She even took photos of us as and when we wished. The day was not rushed and the two wine tastings on the way home were relaxed and enjoyable. I cannot recommend this company more highly and Marlene thank you so much. Carol and Ada.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieRochester_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear MillieRochester_Kent,

Thanks for the wonderful review.
Marlene is a true gem and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the day out with her.
We really appreciate your support.

Best wishes,
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Wine Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing