We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Cape Town Wine Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Milnerton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a South African - Cape Town-based - tour operator with a serious passion for wine which allows us to offer our clients unique gourmet wine and dine experiences - whether it is on a one day wine tour in Cape Town, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, or a three day wine tour that covers the entire Cape Wine region. We have daily Wineland tours departing from Cape Town and can cater for all wine lovers from the wine novice to the wine connoisseur.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

When visiting South Africa, you have to check out the many wineries and vineyards they have there, they make great wines.

My Wife and I decided to book a tour guide so we could both enjoy the wine and the drive without worrying about getting drunk. We decided on Luhambo tours based on the many good reviews. The did not disappoint! Cedric was very knowledgeable about both the wines and the vineyards. I felt like we were VIPs there because he seemed to know the employees of the wineries and we just walked in and got head of the line treatment and on many stops we got private tastings. Cedric explained each type of wine and gave detailed descriptions on the process.

Overall great experience! Plan an entire day, because you will drink so much wine, that you will need to rest after.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlateralus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi jlateralus21,

Many thanks for the kind words.
I hope that all is well in Kandahar and that you return back to the States safe and sound.
Thanks for sharing your beer making experience with me, it was really interesting.

Be safe,
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful tour”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took the Stellenbosch/Franschhoek wine tour. We were able to see several wineries--almost too many--in one day. Cedric, our guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the wines and tried to maximize each individual's experience based on their tastes. The group was nice and small as well. On top of the wine tour, the scenery was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank enrica3anatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear enrica3anatra,

Thanks for the kind words.
I will try and limit the number of vineyards we visit next time you visit :-).
We appreciate your support.

Kind regards,
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A memorable day”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

As part of a recent rather whirlwind visit to Cape Town we booked the full-day wine and cheese tour to Stellenbosch and Franschhoek with Luhambo Tours. We did well in choosing this tour company. Our guide, Graham, was very personable and provided us with a great overview of the wines produced in these lovely regions. It was a very rainy day but our enthusiasm was not dampened in the least. Graham was extremely knowledgeable about the area, the many varieties of grapes grown in the region, the wineries, the winemakers, the winemaking methods and the excellent wines and cheeses we sampled. Graham responded just as knowledgeably to the many questions we threw at him about Cape Town, the people and South Africa in general. We were a small group of four and Graham gave us his undivided attention. The tour was well paced but unhurried. It was a memorable day. Thank you Graham and Luhambo Tours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariedarling2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear RossandMarie,

We happy to hear that you had a good time in spite of the weather.
Hopefully the next time you are in Cape Town the weather will be better and you can experience the true beauty of the Winelands.
Thanks for your support.

Kind regards
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Private Tour I've Ever Taken”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I'm not a tour-guide type of person - usually I find them stuffy and they aren't my style. Luhambo Tours totally blew me away and I can't recommend them more. My partner and I took a private tour of Stellenbosch/Franschhoek along with another couple in early March. We booked the tour with Sabine about two months in advance and it was the easiest travel booking I've done in ages. Cedric, our guide, arrived at our hotel in Cape Town 10-minutes early and we were off to wine country. Cedric was incredible - he listened to what we were interested in and tailored an amazing day just for us. We went to both larger and smaller wineries (way off the beaten path we would have never found), which was great to get a taste of both types of wineries. We even stopped at great restaurant overlooking a vineyard for lunch, sitting outside peacefully for one of the best lunches we had on our trip! Luhambo clearly has stellar relationships with the wineries in the area and every one we went to we felt like we were almost getting the "insider's tour" because of how familiar Cedric was with everyone.

Even beyond the wineries, spending the day with Cedric was one of my favorite memories of our entire trip - just his knowledge of the wine, the country, the culture - everything! He was incredibly gracious at the zillions of questions we had for him about South Africa, and for that we were all incredibly grateful.

This was one of our favorite parts of the trip by far - do yourself a favor and take a Luhambo Tour while you're in Cape Town!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiTownOrBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear ChiTownOrBust,

It is great to hear that we have changed your mind on partaking in guided tours :-).
It was a pleasure having you guys on tour and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience with Luhambo Tours”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved our half-day tour with Erica! She was very knowledgeable and helpful, always ready to answer to all our questions. Good choice of vineries and lovely scenery. Definitely recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OksanaM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuhamboTours, Owner at Cape Town Wine Tours, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear OksanaM888,

Thanks for the review and kind words.
Erica sends her best wishes.

Kind regards
Cedric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Wine Tours also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Town Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing