We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Candlewood Lodge. You can see the Knysna heads from the room which is amazing. The rooms are well maintained. Joyce and Graham are excellent hosts with a personal touch, they gave us lots of travel tips for in and around Knysna. Really sweet of them to cook us breakfast on short notice when we had change of plans.
Would recommend Candlewood Lodge to anyone visiting Knysna!

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noopur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
417
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We started our honeymoon April 2014 in South Africa by early May we were now in Knysna, just a gorgeuos place.. We had the opportunity to stay at Candlewood for one night, a beautiful guest house with a wonderful view and a great room.. The best part was the attention of Joyse and Graham making you feel at home. The breakfast room, food and attention was the best! Hope you have the opportunity to check it out... Thanks!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticacrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boppard, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Candlewood Lodge over Easter. Joyce and Graham were very friendly hosts who gave us good advice about Knysna and surroundings. Excellent service.

We had the Sand room. This was a comfortable room with a great view of the lagoon. Be sure to stay in one of the upstairs rooms with a view.

The B&B is located in a quiet neighbourhood. A car is essential as it is too far to walk to central Knysna or the waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stopped for 3 nights at Candlewood, and the property is absolutely lovely. Beautiful garden, nice location close to all the restaurants, and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Joyce accommodated our schedules the last day by serving us breakfast earlier. Graham and Joyce both gave us excellent tips on local restaurants and attractions, and also how to visit the Addo National Park. They make excellent hosts. You cannot go wrong here!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the lagoon and others the garden. Depending on your preference you may ask for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestmom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay at Candlewood at the start of a 2 week vacation in South Africa. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Graham - which certainly set the tone for the rest of the week. Both Joyce and Graham were the perfect and most delightful hosts and really made us feel at home. The room was very clean and certainly had a very homely feel. Awesome views of the lagoon. Joyce was very accommodating of our unusual breakfast requests. Both Graham and Joyce are very knowledgable of the local tourist areas and were a bundle of information. A most enjoyable experience and very highly recommended. Will be back there soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We made a stop in the wonderful and beautiful town of knysna on our 2 week trek though South Africa. The owners of this excellent B&B were a joy! Service was excellent with made to order breakfast. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and checked into our room and given lots of local info to help plan our days! This was our first trip staying in multiple B&B's and I can't imagine doing it any other way. We felt comfortable and welcomed! So different from even our 4 or 5 star hotel experiences. Property is well maintained with a lot of care! Great shower with hit water. Cable tv and excellent views of this amazing town. Lots to do in and around the area! Do not miss the elephant park and eating at ile de pain! It is simply amazing! The waterfront is a great place for shopping and other food options. Entire town felt very safe! A stay in candlewood is not to be missed! You will never want to stay at a hotel again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brittwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Candlewood and had a first floor suite with a balcony which looked south towards the Lagoon. A great place, spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast was served either on the terrace, where we were sometimes overlooked by the local vervet monkeys, or in the conservatory - both were equally excellent as was the food. Graham was doing a sterling job in Joyce's absence and recommended places to visit to suit everyone's taste. We really enjoyed our visit into mountains north of Knysna to see the original gold fields and enjoy a swim in the waterfall - never would have found it by ourselves.
Its certainly a place to revisit and recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are great for Lagoon and Thesen Island views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.8 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing