We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise Beach, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

At Candlewood Lodge we were provided with a beautifully furnished and clean room called Spray. Although the room did not offer a view of the Knysna Lagoon, it provided every mod con we could have wished for. The owners, Joyce and Graham, are extremely friendly, helpful and informative regarding the town's facilities and restaurants. Graham also helped to arrange a game of golf for me at the incredible Simola Golf Course at a discounted rate.
The breakfasts are very adequate indeed and are served either on the outside patio or in a very pleasant breakfast room.
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and will certainly return on future visits to Knysna. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies offer tremendous views over the Knysna Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
417
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Candlewood Lodge provided a very large, spotless room and a spacious, well-appointed deck with a spectacular view of Knysna Lagoon. We were given a sumptuous breakfast every morning and supplied with expert local knowledge by Graham and Joyce to enhance our stay. A golf game was arranged for us, walking tours outlined, and dinner suggestions were very helpful. The pool provided an excellent break from all the activity. We would recommend staying here unconditionally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Our room was spacious, clean and pleasant. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was such a pretty setting, and we felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Candlewood Lodge is excellent! From the clean, tidy, spacious rooms with wounderfull views of the Knysna lagoon and heads, to the helpfull and imformative hosts, Graham and Joyce. We stayed for 3 nights and would have been happy to stay for longer. I would reccommend Candlewood without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

we were upgraded to the ground floor room. The room is large and clean with full facility. The breakfast was nice. The owners are friendly. Good location with great view. Quiet at night. No kids allowed policy is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markchanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a great time we had at Yellowwood Lodge in Knysna. The rooms were delightful and the views gorgeous. Our hosts could not have been more helpful in assisting with what to see and do and the breakfasts were scrumptious. We highly reccommend this lovely establishment!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Paulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place. Second time I have stayed and so glad to say is still brilliant. Views you have to see to appreciate. Friendly owners with lots of local knowledge. I really recommend you try it you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MariskaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing