We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Candlewood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely place with Delicious Food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Our room was spacious, clean and pleasant. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was such a pretty setting, and we felt very comfortable there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    42
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
395
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Candlewood Lodge is excellent! From the clean, tidy, spacious rooms with wounderfull views of the Knysna lagoon and heads, to the helpfull and imformative hosts, Graham and Joyce. We stayed for 3 nights and would have been happy to stay for longer. I would reccommend Candlewood without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

we were upgraded to the ground floor room. The room is large and clean with full facility. The breakfast was nice. The owners are friendly. Good location with great view. Quiet at night. No kids allowed policy is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markchanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a great time we had at Yellowwood Lodge in Knysna. The rooms were delightful and the views gorgeous. Our hosts could not have been more helpful in assisting with what to see and do and the breakfasts were scrumptious. We highly reccommend this lovely establishment!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Paulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place. Second time I have stayed and so glad to say is still brilliant. Views you have to see to appreciate. Friendly owners with lots of local knowledge. I really recommend you try it you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MariskaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in the Sky room at Candlewood Lodge and it was just wonderful. Graham and Joyce just made us feel at home immediately. Actually even before we got there as we were traveling by Motorbike and was scared to leave the bike outside as this was our first trip to Knysna and did not know what to expect but Graham just opened his home to us and said we can park the bike in his garage. Graham was right it is a very safe and nice area. Graham and Joyce have got a very good knowledge of thing to do and they suggested some of the nicest place I have ever seen. The breakfast and hospitality we got was just the best and we would know as we travel a lot.

Graham and Joyce thanks for the wonderful service we will see you again, soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent I think, top room just got more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our stay in Knysna was made perfect by staying at the Candlewood Lodge. Graham and Joyce are the owners and have nothing to offer except wonderful service, warm and friendly attitudes, excellent knowledge of the area (and other places of interest in South Africa if you went on a tour like myself), and just all round top hospitality.

The B&B itself is clean, comfortable, modern, and come with the extra touches provided by a caring service. Fantastic view of Knysna lagoon (though I cant guarantee this for every room obviously) which is spectacular to wake up to in the mornings. I can highly recommend this B&B as the top B&B I have ever stayed in. Will stay again in a heartbeat...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancslestat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
769 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
550 reviews
1.6 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
632 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 126 in Knysna
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Lodge

Property: Candlewood Lodge
Address: 8 Stinkwood Crescent | Upper Old Place, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Candlewood Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in Knysna, Candlewood Lodge bed and breakfast in Knysna overlooks the famous Knysna Lagoon with stunning views and luxurious accommodation. The accommodation offered by Ines and Andreas Merz at Candlewood Lodge is five star (5 star) rated by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa and the AA. This luxurious Knysna bed and breakfast enjoys unsurpassed views straight through the heads and the Knysna lagoon to the Indian Ocean. The accommodation comprises six superbly appointed double en suite rooms and one family suite, a separate guest dining area and outdoor patio, large pool and spa. There are many activities to enjoy in Knysna not least of which are the numerous golf courses, horse riding, sailing and gastronomic pleasantries abundant in the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing